Futuro

All done so far. No need to go downtown, just some lazy days ahead. Next week I’ll go for a short visit and after that again a few quiet days. On second of January the engines will start again.

Proxima is moving to a new house. It is rectangular and has wallpaper on it’s walls. That made me wonder: What about a house without right-angles and without wallpaper? This automatically leads to the “Futuro”.
The “Futuro” actually was not a house but a after-ski-hut and – of course Amanda – it is of finnish origin and design: Architect Matti Suuronen introduced it 1968. It was a commercial failure, because not too much people wanted to live in flying-disc-like house and after the oil-price-shock in the beginning 70s it simply became too expensive: It was made from plastics. Production rights were sold throughout the world in its haydays and so Futuros can be found in Northern America, Russia, Australia and in New Sealand – there are seemingly the most of them left – and still in use. As Suuronen once saied: No need to paint or to maintain; it needs a cleansing from time to time.
If you have the possibility to use a library that allows (inter)national access, get this book: Marko Home & Mika Taanila (Eds.): Futuro. Tomorrow’s House from Yesterday, Helsinki 2nd imprint 2003. It comes with a dvd, publisher is Desura Oy Ltd. Here is a fan-site that lists the world’s Futuros. If you are interested in such strange constructions, have a look at this site listing roadside architecture, it is very good addition to my very first “Catch of the week” “Roadside America“. A german article about Futuro and related matters can be found here.

But round houses existed before the Futuro and one of the most interesting is by Antti Lovag, who built a “palace of bubbels” at the cote d’azure: The “Palais bulles” in Théoule-sur-Mer that once belonged to Pierre Cardin. Lovag seems to be an interesting man whose biography should be written.
More than 80 years ago a pretty large round house was built in Dresden, the Kugelhaus. Unfortunately there is no english version of the site. From the Kugelhaus nothing is left except some postcards.
Futuro and colleagues are a nice springboard to not so common design feats like archigramm, BFI and Frei Otto. Have a look and enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Futuro

  1. They are totally bizarre! I can’t imagine living in a place like that. It is funny to see these places because there have been a few ‘UFO’ related stories in the papers recently. Imagine coming across one of these on a walk through a forest!

  2. 🙂 Suuronen said that he found the form simply by following the given conditions of the customer. That he did not have in mind to built a flying saucer. If I ever make it to Utrecht I can visit one in the art-museum.Here I heared no new ufo-stories. Did they fill the papers, or new sightings? Would you please tell me where I can read about it? I always like these stories …

  3. Lily, that reminds me of the black crystal’s woman licking the corners to keep them spotless (dark tower.) It kind of turns me on… (heh)Mago, yes you can post my link anywhere you like. To be listed on your blog would be an honor.And- I would love to live in a weird kind of house, any house that belongs to me at all would be great!

  4. Maybe you both like expressionist architecture.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expressionist_architectureThe Einstein tower could be interesting for you.AND of course Gaudi’s houses in Barcelona, have a look at Casa Batlló:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Casa_Batll%C3%B3http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GaudiAfter WWI a part of the architecture followed the “right angle” (Neue Sachlichkeit), others went zigzag … Both naturally reaches before 1914. The “Jugendstil”-houses are built phantasies. With modern materials and electronic planning-tools even more phantastic forms should be realizable. Sadly it seems that nobody has the guts to built such houses.

  5. Hallo!Ik heb U blog bij Lone Grey Squirrels gefunden…Ik weet niet warum ich sprach Hollandisch dort aber warum spricht Deine Blog Deutsch wan du kommst aus Frankreich?N’est-ce pas?Sorry for all that multilingual pretension I found your blog via the Lone Grey Squirrel’s and thought I’d say hello!Wishing you all best Compliments of the SeasonAnd a Fantabulous 2008!fromGledwood“Vol 2″…;->…

  6. Hello gledwood – thank you for coming by and your first comment here. I am german and live in Franconia, the annexed upper part of Bavaria. My Hollandisch is not too good, but I can read it and after a while understand the spoken word. My French is … hmpf, have a good pronunciation but don’t remember the words.I looked at german blogs and did not like what I read. (I very shortly – 20 minutes – had a german blog and after having set it up I was visited by a type and “welcomed to the family”! Holy crap – I do not want to be member of a family I did not choose! I read the garbage and deleted the whole thing.)I found blogs I liked and voilà I had to write in English.Thank you for the good wishes, may it return to you!daveMerry christmas! I hope proxima did not rip out too much …

  7. Mago,Thanks for your kind words tonight and thank you as always for your comments. I haven’t frequented your blog and I bookmarked you and will stop by from now on. Take care of yourself and I enjoyed this discussion. Jonathon Andrew

  8. JoyceThank you. Hope it’s all well with you.AndrewHello, thank you for dropping by. I would be pleased to see you around here.Enough for me now, 3 in the morning, no more speed I’m almost here, happy birthday Jesus, where ever you are …

Comments are closed.