University Library

The freestate of Bavaria (Freistaat Bayern) brags a lot about its high-tech-abilities, super duper communication facilities and top notch universities … blablableurgh …
On last Monday I ordered a copy of an essay via the local university library. It’s published in a pretty unusual magazine and the Bavarian library network does not list it. They took my order and yesterday, Thursday, I received an email saying that they scanned the essay. So today I strolled over to the library to collect my print. The very young man behind the counter went to the shelves and came back emptyhanded. He checked the computer and saied ther’d be nothing. I told him that I got an e-mail yesterday, he shrugged his shoulders and went to the next counter.
Before I could scream out at the lousy sucker I realized that one of the oldtimers stood in front of me, grinning and making a gesture in the boy’s direction. “You ordered an essay?” Yes.” “You got the email.” “Yes.” “It only says that they scanned it, not that it would be here.” “Häh?” I wanted to say something about damned printers. “It’s only the beginning. Someone put it in an envelope.” I looked at him. I know this man for a lot of years, he’s a little younger than me. I asked him in the local dialect whether he would fool me (“Veraschrt da mich jezz?”) and his malicious grin became even worse. “They scan it. Print it. Put in in an envelope and give it into the mail. Ad two days for mail. It’s weekend. On Monday maybe someone has nothing better to do then slitting open the envelope and put it into the shelf, sometime in the afternoon. On Tuesday, if you are lucky, it’s here.”
There was nothing more to say.

Telefax? E-mail-attachement? Service?
BWUAHHAHHAAAAA … scratch your Lederhos’n …

15 thoughts on “University Library

  1. Austere
    He does not hate me – It was the bitter grin of a desillusioned man, who knows the business very well, sees the mistakes and has given up. He fights his frustration with it. Recalling the situation I realize that he was the only full-time employee there, everyone else was a student. It was Frayday early afternoon and the house was full and busy!

    XL
    “Des wär’ ja ah noch schönner!”
    As long as there is no Franconian departement 🙂 … In fact it is a rude expression. I asked him whether he tried to make me look like an arse. And I called him “you / du” – what I could allow myself in this situation, because a) I am the older one, b) we know each other for a long time and c) I used the dialect what put it on an other level of intimacy.

    But I simply do not understand why I do not get the scan: They have my e-mail-adress, I am a registered user with an account (otherwise I could not have placed this order!), they sent me an e-mail!
    If they do not want me to have a file they could sent the jpg or pdf-file to the library and they print it out in the copy-departement. My communication with other parts of the library (manuscripts departement, catalogue, gifts, buying proposals – you NAME it! I use that library since 1982!) all goes via e-mail!

    No, they use snail-mail.
    I do not get it.

  2. Sounds like the old crusty was being a bit of an imp at your expense. Some people have strange ways of amusing themselves. Especially Germans, I think. :>

    I can speak old Japanese, not modern Japanese. It confuses the young people when I go to Japan and speak Japanese that they can barely understand while the older people are laughing and nodding. They must feel left out, but they speak with so much slang, I just can’t keep up and neither can their parents/grandparents. I hear it is causing some problems for hiring and interviewing young people for jobs. A generational language gap.

    By the Way, Proxmia is nearest to the Sun and has unusual fluctuations in it’s magnetic force. Being also the closest star to earth Scientists have considered travelling there, but they usually get better funding when they try to aim for planets instead.

  3. Thanks for the Franconian! 🙂

    I am familiar with the vous/tu distinction in French as well. Given that English borrowed so much from German and French, it seems like we would have that formal/informal usage as well.

    Have a great weekend.

  4. Nimh
    Yes, sometimes I think I’m speaking old Japanese too … As for the things people do to amuse themselves – some built moats, ask MJ. This word must be relateted to “la motte”, the French for a fortofied place or a kind of small hill. “De la Motte” was a common part of French noble names.

    XL
    Thank you for the good wishes. Tomorrow the will be election to the parliament. Think I will make my crosses and then vanish somewhere in the middle of nowhere …

    Roses
    Thank you for the vino. I hope you are well – and will raise your voice to prise the Lord! Or will you sing the blues in a smoky joint? I am curious …

    MJ
    They must love you at Archie McPhee’s!

  5. Mago,

    Most of my electrical goods are German..

    Bosch, Miele ….

    The new car I am getting next Month is German; Volvo.

    German=efficiency
    German=good solid quality built to last
    to me.

    Germany=good work ethic
    And hence I assumed German=good service, also.

Comments are closed.