Gänsefleisch

Ah yes, it’s a pleasure every time again. See, the diocese of Würzburg has built a new archive some years ago with a large and well equipped reading room and the specialized library on the same floor; the diocese of Bamberg has built a new archive I have best memories of, I have used it only once until now. The archive of the diocese of Eichstätt has no new building but resides in a well restored historical house with a very large reading room flooded with natural light.
The Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Bayern has an archive in Nürnberg, but the Kirchenbucharchiv consists of six (!) ancient and loud reading devices for microfilm or microfices (Ger.) cramped into a small sleazy room near the Lorenz Kirche (must see!), backyard under the roof guarded by a Saxonian shepherd … at least in winter it’s warm in there because there’s only one window (“Öffnen verboten!”) and the crappy old rumblers are heating up the room – how economical.
Next free date for using the reading room would be 21st of October but I am allowed to phone in tomorrow afternoon (“Danke, Archivleiter!” Clack!), maybe someone canceled an appointment, thank you Worzel. Oh this dialect …

16 thoughts on “Gänsefleisch

  1. Your research sometimes sounds much better than the one of a top detective, Mago. I’ve carefully read your back comment on the previous post and now this last one and really, now I know what you mean when you say you must know the tools.

    Gute Nacht, Lieber. I’m off to bed now, I have my particular Morgengrauen tomorrow: Spain will be under the spell of a stupid pointless general strike. I must get up at 6am to drive to work. It will be a hard day.

    PS.- Btw, what’s the problem with the dialect…

  2. Ah, the joys of doing proper research from scratch.

    I can’t help but think you sound like you’re in your element. When I think back on the posts when you were doing security…ugh. Life might be tougher financially (I suspect) but you sound much more content. I really hope I’ve read you right.

    xxx

  3. I heared / read about the general strike, Leni. The dialect is already in the title of the post: I wrote this after having had a phone conversation with the mentioned Saxonian shepherd. The different saxonian dialects are undescribable – you must have heared these sounds; the variety is large, as is in Franconia. A joke dating back to 1989 is “Gänsefleisch”, litteraly “meat of geese”. But also homonymic, identical in sound for “Können Sie vielleicht … (‘mal den Koffer öffnen?)”. Speak it. And exactly this was echoing through my head.

    When I get a “micro”film roll thick as a fist and have to search in it, I sometimes go full throttle just for the fun, XL. The old machines with hand crank are nice too. But I have a feeling that I will get fiches, sheets.

    I am an open book to you Roses! The financial situation is terrible and if I do not hear something positive from the employers I wrote to it will be another mindblowing job in a few weeks … I do not mind working something completely different and I know that I have to take what I can get, but I try to land something in my field. The genealogical research is fun and I enjoyed particularily to work for descendants of Franconian emigrants to America. But the Dollar is not more what it used to be …

  4. MJ, you slip in … Somewhere in the vaults I must still have a reading machine – they were sold out of the local library at the beginning of the 90s, for a tenner with various lenses. Mad, in the 1980s the written cardboard catalogue was still in use. Wonder whether they destroyed it.

  5. HA! Funny you should mention homonyms! When I made my comment last night I looked for the German for seasick. So I was going to make this joke.

    Me at microfilm viewer:
    seekrank = see/crank

  6. The header pic is nice. 🙂 Please tell me which plant is this.
    Have a happy reading and researching in reading room full of natural light. 🙂
    I liked ‘Sunday Music’ especially the discription about nature; sky, leaves and fog.
    Best wishes. 🙂

  7. Hello Chandrika Shubham, what you see are the fruits of the “Hecken Rose” (Ger.) Rosa corymbifera grows as a bush 2 to 4 meters high. The fruits are called “Hagebutten” (Ger., Eng.) and used for tea, marmelade … contain a lot of vitamins.

  8. It’s a kind of rollercoaster actually, Austere. I am glad to do something I like and “can”, know – and on the other hand time and means are very limited. Maybe I have to sell someting …

Comments are closed.