Eat It – or better let it dry and use it as a weapon

A serious word. Some of my venerated readers may possibly be travelling in Central Europe, Southern Germany, Bavaria and other places of former K.u.k. cuisinal heritage.
Serviettenkloß, if done properly and really earning the name, loves sauce: It soaks it up like a sponge; if you prepare meat, no matter which sort, and choose to have Serviettenkloß with it, you have to take care and make a lot more sauce as usual. Nowadays some Ersatzproducts litter the supermarkets pretending to contain “Austrian” Serviettenklöse: Plastic thingies containing grey material are cooked in boiling water and result in a cementlike sausage; single slices refuse to take in any fluid, no matter what, the surfaces being absolutely water repellant! The cold sausages are useful as sophisticated tools like clubs, hammers or such. The inventor of this perversity should be hit with them over the derrière, repeatedly.

It’s a Bohemian specialty. You need old white bread or some Brötchen, Petersilie (glatt), small onion, eggs, milk, salt … The bread is cut in cubes, soaked in milk. The onion is sliced in small parts and roasted. A dough is made. Traditionally it is put in a Serviette (ein Leinentuch) and cooked over boiling water (Wasserbad). We used a special pot that gave it the form of a cake (no, MJ, do not even think of it!), the inside was lubricated with butter –  ideally you open the form, turn it around and voilá there’s the Kloß, I only came close to this. Brotstreusel are put in so decorating the outside of the later Kloß. The form is filled only to three quarters, locked well and put in a larger pot with boiling water. It takes some time. Of this basical receipe exist a large number of variations, some even use flour and potatoes – but that is Thuringian, they believe the potato is God’s gift to mankind, a bit like the Irish. Basically you put the pot on the oven and let it simmer until the meat is ready; goes with meat from the hunt or other. By the way: What is called “Gulash“, “Gulyas” etcetc. is in Hungary a soup. If you want to have original Hungarian shepherd’s stew in Budapest ask for pörkölt. The Viennese Gulasch comes in variations and goes very good with Serviettenkloß. It loves sauce, you know?

22 thoughts on “Eat It – or better let it dry and use it as a weapon

  1. Wow so many different things. My mother made potatoes and dumplings in a white sauce. It had a german name. I loved it but remember that was over 60 years ago.

  2. No capers … was the white sauce a Hollandaise, Joyce?

    So you are partly awake, Roses?

    Do I hear a distant thunder, LGS? Your stomach grumbling?

    Using potatoes is a Thuringian only variant. You can vary the basic dough with different spices and garlic. The Bohemian-Austrian cooking uses a lot of white flour, Austere. My grandmother often made a sauce from tomatoes with everything coming from the garden. They preferred a sweet taste as I remember. I like it more spicy and a bit more adventurous.

  3. Mmm… I just love sauces, and hate these Ersatz stuffs. A good sauce should have garlic, onion, tomato. and a lot of spices… (yummy!).
    My mind was quite busy looking for Dresden Stollen recipes (I’ve been recommended to forget about it and buy it at the German supermarket, but I love to experiment and may bake it in my own Backofen 🙂
    Now I think that Serviettenkloss (mit viel Sauce) is another challenge in my kitchen… heheheh. Du hast tolle Ideen, lieber Mago …

  4. I am sorry, Leni: Kuchen, Torten und süße Teilchen, are out of my field of experience – I am simply not good at it. There’s always something wrong and the results are close to Körperverletzung … I can not say how much effort it takes to make a good Stollen. There are variants with marzipan.

  5. This evening I tried a chutney, something very new for me. This one comes as mix of limettes and chillies – and for the very first time, really, the printed label saying “hot” was right! An extraordinary mix of tastes and flavours. It comes in a glass and sadly will not be sold around here longer, seemingly it did not hit the Franconians idea of ” Sauce” … 🙂 That is the reason it was accessible, it’s significantly reduced and sold out. Must be great with roasted vegetable and rice, maybe a little garlic …

  6. No, MJ.

    Innocent enough, Leni. It sounds good, looks good … generous amount of marzipan! And I like that she does not use citronat and such ingredients.
    I like them a bit more brown, just five minutes longer in the oven. It’s worth a try!

    You thought “Kraut”, Kahless? 🙂

  7. I’d rather sink my teeth into a schwarzwälder Kirschtorte than one of those french andouillette things anyday. Did somebody mention marzipan? Now I’m dribbling.

Comments are closed.