Sunday Music

Why not begin the New Year with an angry woman?

Armatae face, et anguibus
A caeco regno squalido
Furoris sociae barbari Furiae venite ad nos

Morte, flagello, stragibus
Vindictam tanti funeris
Irata nostra pectora
Duces docete vos.

La BARTOLI performs this aria from the oratorium “Juditha Triumphans” (Ger., Eng.), text by CASSETTI, music by VIVALDI (Ger., Eng.).
I hope you all made it well into the New Year – may it be a good one! And if need be, one can always summon the furies.

*

*

18 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. She goes full throttle, herrlich! And she cuts a fine figure in a tux too.

    Thank you dear Boxer, I’ll take the good things and leave the bad things aside.

    Many thanks, Joyce. First of all I will work a bit on my health. And after the 6th of January I will continue a family research.

    Let’s hope for the best for the coming year!

  2. What is that they say about a Woman scorned?….
    She is coming to Melbourne in March. I’ll have to try for a ticket.!
    I hope you enjoyed your walk Mago… Angels speak to men when they take a walk… I read that somewhere once…
    I wish you a happy and healthy 2011 if I haven’t done so already….

  3. You mean this, dear Princess: “Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned” ?
    I thank you for the good wishes, and send them right back to You! Today the angels were silent on my way, maybe it was too cold.
    I hope she’ll be in good health and mood when you can see her in Melbourne.

    You Can, dear Scarlet. Even heavy breathing is involved. Say my Dear, there are some photographes on your lovely Nokia left?

  4. Starting the New Year with an angry woman is always a good idea. I kind of wish she were smashing a few plates while singing this, though.

Comments are closed.