Sunday Music, late edition

I’m knackered.
Frayday afternoon my friend Rob arrived. We know each other for twenty years now; one cold dark evening in November 1991 a strange thin man stood in the institute’s hallway where I was working, searching for a professor who accidentally just had left on holiday to Canada. Today Rob is a honcho in his own university in Hungary, but every two or three years he drops by, sleeps on a Matratze and digs his way through my library – I had to pick up some heaps of books this Sunday afternoon to make way and tried to press them back into the shelves. (My collection is in a terrible state, un-sorted still after the last move, too many furniture in front of the book-shelves, but for some reason unbeknownst to me he loves it.)
He attended an annual conference earlier in the week (“Horrible, Mago, just horrible: Like a machine – nothing new at all!”) and took the chance to come over to my place. He traveled with his eleven year old son – seemingly kids today only need internet access to be pacified – Gut so! We forced the poor boy to speak English, ah terrible this eduction efforts …
Yesterday morning the pair of them went into the city to get some presents for the ladies at home (his lovely wife and daughter), and in the afternoon we went to Nürnberg by train. Rob needed some photos of the Reichsparteitagsgelände (Ger., Eng.) for an upcoming article and he had not seen the Kongresshalle before, he only knew the Zeppelinfeld. It went well until we came to the platform to travel back, when we learned that the train was at least 40 minutes late. Minor earlier train services were cut out at all, so we stood like the proverbial sardines in the can on our trip back – the people took it in good humor. In fact a goods train had broken down (I happily told innocent travelers that it was Hungarian one) while Robci mumbled something about the decline of Germany and that such a thing never had happened in the Thirties. American survivors of the Oktoberfest were every now and again singing Volkslieder I never had heard before, and three young Japanese tried to decipher the names of the stations, some fool had told them that they would have to switch to a bus, what was totally wrong.
Today we had to reach the train to Frankfurt airport, and again the regular was announced as 40 minutes late, they grabbed another connection just in time.  As I write this, father and son should be riding the Eastbound bus through the Hungarian night, arriving half past midnight at home in Debrecen (Ger., Eng.).
Besides all this we had some serious business to do and I was able to scan some articles for him in my local university library he can not reach in his hometown – digitization is a very good thing, but access is the key.

So, that’s why I am knackered. And why Sunday Music comes a bit late. It is a little tango by Georges BOULANGER (Ger., Eng., site), recorded in 1939.
I hope you enjoy the music – may the coming week be gentle to all of us.

*

*

15 thoughts on “Sunday Music, late edition

  1. gosh you were very quick MJ!

    I think it is always good to catch up with friends even though the time spent can be exhausting when getting out and about with them!… It seems to me that the disorganisation of your library only adds to the attraction of your company and hospitality…

    I’m still trying to get my friends kids to speak English even though it is their alleged native tongue. Grunting and um’s don’t cut it with me!

    Your back held up oK? That is good news.
    Have a lovely week.

  2. You were late posting, I am late visiting.

    It’s all good.

    I’m glad you enjoyed your visit from your friend. That you’ve not been able to organise your books suggests to me that you’ve been very busy. I bet you still know where everything is.

  3. I think v.LX does it easy now, he discovers the European Schlendrian, dear Mistress.

    Thank you, dear Princess, the back is better: i can sit upright and all, just have to take care while moving around; lifting things is no good idea.
    Yes, answering in whole sentences, formulating a thought – the boy is good in English at school, but he has no practice of speaking and my Franconian English may sound a bit different from the Hungarian version he is used to. He simply did not want to be embarrassed …

    Yes, wine and coffee – so we switched to Balinka, makes no stains, Melanie

    That is nice from you, Roses, to assume that I’d be very busy! Other not so benevolent people may say that I am just a damn lazy sod …

    Thank you, Austere, as I pointed out to Princess above, the back is remarkably better. And yes – the decline of the Western civilization is on its way!

  4. Other people’s shambles are always charming and cosy, whereas one’s own just feels a bloody mess.

    Organising a large book collection is no mean feat, and requires a large amount of headspace and time. Once you get a chance to clear your head then you’ll sort your shelves. Not lazy, just patiently waiting for the opportunity. Glad your back’s better.

  5. Glad to see you were a busy friend. Good way to spend time. Back didn’t let you down is a piece of good news. Train late is nothing new around here.

  6. Ha – you are totally right about “Other people’s shambles”, dear Eryl! That explains 9 of ten museums around here!

    It’s never too late for a good fluffing, dear von LX! Visiting the area includes a bit of walking – not to say marching – around.

    The back was working nearly as it should, Joyce – one always realises things when they do not work properly. And sometimes it is too late.

    No lifting, EH – and no carpet liyng, sorry about this.

    It’s all warking it’s way, dear Austere, thank you. Nothing compared to the things you face.

    Thank you Karl, the back is better and all this – I am sad that I did not take part in Wednesday Movie – tomorrow I will join in! And I really hope to be able to welcome Mr. von LX here in Franconia one not so far away day!

    … wish some of them damn trains would never have worked.
    Well Norma, which of these georgous little puppies will you throw out in the cold? I bet you will give Mouse away.

    Oh yeah, Tag der Einheit, thank you, von LX. I have very mixed feelings about all this. The term and the notion of “nation” will give us something to work on for the coming generations, that’s for sure.

Comments are closed.