Damn Dark Morning

Heroically I got up in the midst of darkness, threw cold water on meself, drank hot coffee and ironed a shirt; finally I started the bolide and thundered down the road – yippi-a-yeah! Yes, time for the annual conference of the local museums, the 27th, held this year in the old synagogue (pic) in Kitzingen (Ger., Eng.).
Actually I went there to meet some old colleagues and friends, to hear the latest gossip, oh yes and to listen to the (more or less) inspired lectures.
This year’s focus was on archeological collections and networking, main example was the activity around the Bullenheimer Berg (Ger.). It is a 15o meter high table mountain standing separated from the Steigerwald (Ger., Eng.) massif. The more or less flat top plateau of 30 hectare (Ger., Eng.) is used by humans from stone age until bronze age and surrounded by a circular rampart of roughly 2,5 kilometer length.
The first scientific exploration started in the 1980s; sadly the leading excavator G. DIEMER died in an accident in the late 1980s, his work was published posthumously. After a break of 20 years new and technically pretty advanced explorations and prospections were undertaken in 2010, the results are actually shown in an exhibition in Kitzingen.
Sadly the mountain was the aim of robbers for the last twenty years and today there is nearly no more metal object to be found – the metal detecting devices found it all. There is pottery, bone objects, stone objects – what one can expect, but no more metal. Only fully corroded relics, what means that they have no more metal core, went undetected. Some objects had to be bought back later from art dealers, sometimes it’s a shady business.
The population left the area around 880, 800 b. C. latest – many of these hilltop settlements were abandoned in the late Urnenfelderkultur (Ger., Eng.); some were resettled later, but the Bullenheimer Berg not. There are traces of medieval agriculture (Wölbäcker, Ger., Eng.), but the continuity of the settlement is not given. The great wall was not finished and it never saw military action, it was simply given up. We do not know the reasons, a seemingly good suspicion is a climate change. It would be worth a further look and a comparative research about these settlements, maybe an accurate analysis of the archeological results could give some hints or point in a direction.

17 thoughts on “Damn Dark Morning

  1. And I did not have to give blood, Z! It was nice to see people I studied with, yes actually some of us really make a living from all this cultural dingalong.

    Ah yes, the leaning tower: They have to live with the mockery that they could not built a tower stright upwards, von LX. But I don’t get the vampires – will check the links.

  2. I got distracted by von lx I found no pages of leaning towers and vampires. Do share!

    As a side note: I’m so thankful for Google “translate page” function!

    I hope you had fun Mago! I was expecting something more sinister with such a title, like a visit from a Succubus or something…

    Ciao!
    Melanie

  3. HA – it’s the last paragraph in the English wiki-article about Kitzingen, related to the leaning tower – go and read it under “Main Sights” here, Melanie. Actually “Damn Dark Morning” was coined by the lovely Savannah and fits exactly! And for the succubi – not today, darlin’ …

  4. Hope you had a great time. Former friends that you talk the latest things with;plus new lectures is worth the time. Keeps you in there. You never know what you will find out.

  5. Sounds like a fine day! I’ll have to go back and click on that link to read about the leaning tower and the vampires… Von LX (and you) have me curious! 🙂

  6. Sounds like a wonderful site– except for the metal.
    Climate change so they packed up and went elsewhere?
    Like Dholavira or Lothal?
    And a great day of learning.
    What leaning tower?

  7. I found the mention of vampire. Reminds me of when I was sixteen. My grandfather needed to have a sit down chat to discuss some unpleasent findings in his geneology, that he was a descendant of Vlad the Impaler. Of course as a young girl into Gothic Romance I thought it was pretty cool. He was not my biological grandfather mind you. I’m still unraveling that mystery to find out who was. I know he was German and a drunk, but Grandma wouldn’t say anymore.

    Melanie

  8. Some of the gossip was not nice, Joyce. But thankfully I stay away from all this, once in the year is more than enough!

    May I bite you, Ponita?

    No worries, LGS, these vamps do not dare to bite Coburgians!

    May I bite you, Roses?

    In the (small) town of Kitzingen one of the old towers – it once was part of the wall of the town – is leaning a bit, crooked or askew. It is in no way comparable to Pisa or others. It’s a humble tower.
    It is not clear where the people went to, Austere, or what exactly happened. It is really worth some additional research.

    Vlad Dracul, hero in the fight against the Turks … I think I saw a new book about him last week, Melanie. Grandma must have had a hard time.

    Sign up? I’ll sign anything – on this dotted line here – fine!

    I hope you are fully recovered from all this bloody teeth pulling, MsScarlet.

    It’s my photo, but not my wood, Mistress. And it will soon be changed.

    I checked, von LX and stante pede answered!

Comments are closed.