Greatful Ruins

What a day. When I jumped on the train this morning the sky was bright and the sun cared for the first shadows of the day. Entering Mittelfranken it became grey and after Uffenheim [sic] I saw one of this new wind turbines vanishing from the middle upwards: The rotor blades were only visible when they passed the tower in the lower half. It was cool in Ansbach, and I also had some cool telephon conversation with a bank person, it even turned icy in the course of the conversation, yes they are of limited generosity, but there’s nothing to worry about. I think even taking a deep breath inside a bank can be surcharged. Suckers.
The bus driver threw me out at the roundabout as usual, I went into my chamber and changed clothes, collected my stuff together and moved over to my bureau. Just in time to meet a man, who brought  some boxes with books inside the rooms (yes, rooms; it’s all right what they did, no violation of terrain or such nonsense), and they made my day.
Among the inevitable books/brochures/rotten library things from the late 19th century, the bound magazine tomes, the “grey” literature, all a bit dusty or sun bleached or damaged by water, there are some marvels, from the 18th, 17th and even 16th century. I grabbed the tomes I could identify at first glance, I think eight, and dragged them into my cave. Over the day I had to do some other things, like eating a bit, going to the superette, and tonight I finally found time to look a bit closer. It’s by far no real research by now, but two of them are really promising. If I can trust what I threw together, one tome is only the fourth in Germany provable via the meta-catalogues, and two others are at least not here in Bavaria, and only in small numbers in Germany. Their condition is lamentable. But nothing a good bookbinder could not repair. We’ll see.
Tomorrow I have to photograph a lot of books I recently catalogued, so I may snap a few pictures of these greatful ruins.

11 thoughts on “Greatful Ruins

  1. I never have touched an incunabulum, Z. I saw some in exhibitions. The oldest is from 1532, another one from 1559. Interestingly they came into the library of one of the antecessor organisations of the current institute all in the same year in the second half of the 19th century. Maybe a gift or an inheritance, I saw some notations of possession (Besitzeintrag), but have not yet looked at everything carefully.

    Thank you Roses, they are a very welcome variation from the boxes and rows of mangled and battered schoolbooks, sunbleached magazine tomes. Now all I can do for them is to store them safely, in some months when we can overview the whole stock, we’ll have to discuss what to do (and cost will be a problem).

    Yes! One should never underestimated the possibilities of the Franconian province!

Comments are closed.