Sunday Music

Ah, what a crap week it was, sorry. It started well, I made good progress on Monday and Tuesday especially, when I dusted, sorted and shelved the next sections of the library. This allowed me to clear some shelves that stood very close together in the room, and move them apart so that I could inspect the former inaccessible planks – and to my astounding I found a section with German literature in hopefully interesting editions. My right hand started to prickle and tingle a little. I had some beer and slept wonderfully. On Wednesday afternoon I could watch how in the section behind my index finger a kind of lump swelled up, hot and pulsating. On a Wednesday afternoon you better do not become ill on the German countryside: The local doctor will have closed his office and will be unlocatable, the pharmacy will be closed too. If you can not use your right hand its of no use to try to drive a car – assumed you have one -, you can not change the gears with the gear knob (I save the automatic up for later, thank you).
On Thursday I visited the local medicine man, I am sure he is a good doctor. Because it was my first visit he carefully asked about my medicamentation, pre-existing conditions etc. My only small point of criticism is that his social behaviour is used and formed by the contact with the sprouts from local soil, generally a sturdy race of not too many words, deeply rooted in their native soil that always sticks on their boots and under their nails. At one point I had to ask twice what he meant because I did not know the local expressions, but he translated in Hochdeutsch finally. He diagnosed an attack of gout (Ger., Eng. – the illustration to this article is very accurate by the way).
Over the last months I became lazy, eat too well and too much in the local mensa: They cook for the scholars and disciples here, mostly young men who have actually to do bodily work on the fields, machines etc., generally not old lazy sacks lounging at the desk; unusual corporal activity (carrying staples of books from one place to another through a whole day), and some beer on top of it – voilà, a visit by Mr. Podagra, respectively his cousin Mr. Chiragra – the first bites in feet, the latter in hands.
He gave me colchicum, what is basically condensed Herbstzeitlose (Ger., Eng.), a kind of crocus and pretty poisonous: The poisoning starts with 40 milligrams for the adult, I munched 10 mg in nice little red pills; the side effects are heavy on the stomach, I was very happy to be at home on Frayday evening. The stuff works, but slowly, it’s Sunday and I still can not grab things with my hand – but of course its heaven compared to the situation three days ago – on Wednesday and Thursday I could not even grab a pencil, forget write.

This Sunday Music is The Season of the Witch, originally by DONOVAN, here in a version of The STRANGELINGS (Eng., website). I would have liked to put here the version by Julie DRISCOLL (Ger., Eng., website), but AUGER’s (Ger., Eng.) uninspired squeaking “solo” bungling really put me off. There is an acid-saturated version by VANILLA FUDGE (Ger., Eng.), and a very powerful one by Richard THOMPSON (Ger., Eng., website).
Hope you enjoy it – and may you be spared a visit by Mr. Podagra, or his evil cousin: Have a peaceful and paynefree week!

*

*

16 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. I am glad I have not met the acquaintance of Mr. Podagra or Mr. Chiragra yet. But Mago, I always think of you as the starving, workaholic, committed academician. When did you join the upper classes and start getting rich men’s ailments? Anyway, do get better and take care of your health. Both of us are no longer spring chickens but I hope to be trading comments with you for many, many more years.

  2. Not so much starving, dear LGS … a committed beer drinker i once was … it’s a genetically founded metabolic disease, so called Purine are not dismantled properly, my father already had a problem with this. Some years ago I changed my eating habits and started to move the old bonesack: Being lazy I started to use the meaty mensa and stopped to move since I work in the bookmines – so the gout attack is the punishment for being lazy and commodious … Spring chickens! “In the prime of life” sounds much more polite and promising than alte Gockel

  3. It’s all going better, dear Joyce, but all needs a bit of adjustement and training of the left hand. The side effects of the colchicum are gone, simply because I have no more of the stuff, and I do not want to use it again, seriously.

    Thank you Savannah – *mwah*

    I have no clue whether paynekillers would work here, <b<con LAX. Tomorrow I’ll see my regular doctor (Hausarzt), he must know about this. He should know best what to do, after all he keeps me running for some years now … I have to look for these Junkies on youtube.

    Yes, I picked up “every stitch”, Z!

  4. I swear I commented here …Thank you for the link that works, von Lax, I tried other versions and was always not allowed to see/hear it. The presence and voice of the lady is very impressive, their version of Thunder Road very striking. As one comment on youtube put it – she could even sing the phone book and it would be better than most of the actual noise!

  5. I’m so sorry to hear of this. But what an idiot doctor.

    Gout can happen to anyone, including those hardworking rural beefcakes. You are the least lazy person I know!

    I hope your regular doctor looks after you well.

  6. Hi Mago,
    Its Thanksgiving day here in the U.S. and I am Thankful that we have been friends for so many years now. I also have gout, in my big toes, like my beloved Grandpa Borcher who was a shipbuilder and certainly not a lazy person! It is hereditary as you know. I cannot take the medication while trying to get pregnant again. We’ve been trying for a year, not sure how much longer we can keep trying, I am supposed to be on other necessary medications I’ve been avoiding.

    At any rate, just stopping by to say “Hello”
    Take Care

  7. Having another child would be great, but do not put yerself at risk my dear Proxima, seriously – take care please: Your Son needs you.
    I thank you very much for dropping by at Thanksgiving – I must confess that I did not understand the significance of this holiday until lately – sometimes a table is just a table where you eat, but, as other things, it can become meaningful, become a symbol for something else. And the sole fact that one is there and part of it is important, meaningful, and good.
    You made me start a blog some years ago, and I thank you for this. And I will not forget the kind of quiz you once put up (remember the Japanese words you used?) that gave me a very striking and enlightening result (maybe it even could be called satori). I am glad to have met you – and curious as I am I want to know how the story develops. ((Melanie))

    Thank you very much for the link, Austere – this page shows all that must be known about it. I have some paynekillers here, Ibuprofen that also lessens the inflammation is a good thing (here in a 400 mg per tablet version, very effective).
    I don’ think that it’s weird that the colchicine still is used – I only wonder how the forefathers found out?! It needs a lot of testing, amassing of knowledge and practice to “simply know” what to use how. Colchicine is a good example, poisonous as it is; one has to prepare it in the right way – I mean just cooking out the crocus may be a bit dangerous; one has to find the correct dosis …
    You and Melanie stand at the very beginning of my blogging, M, I thank you for being here. Maybe one day we will greet another in Istanbul and drink tea. I would feel honoured.

    Wenn Du dies hier liest, Amanda, sei gegrüßt und umarmt.

Comments are closed.