Sunday Music

Oh yes, the joys of working independently, there’s always the weekend to work through taxes and insurances and what ever paper work somebody throws at one. No need to whimper, it’s done and prepared and böööh …
When you listen to Sunday Music now and then, you may have noticed that I really like short piano pieces, for example SATIE’s gymnopedies. Yes, they are a bit melancholic now and then. Another French composer, who cultivated this small form, is Francis POULENC, (Ger., Eng.) (1899-1963), you can find his short nocturnes and improvisations on youtube. BTW he and SATIE knew each other from their DADA-days and they both were part of Les Six (Ger., Eng.).
It is POULENC’s Nocturne Nr. 8 played by Alexandre THARAUD (Ger., Eng.) – hope you enjoy it.

*

*

5 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. I always thought I’d like to work independently. In truth, I might well suck at it.
    The taxes alone would drive me (more) insane.

  2. Thankfully I have a CD with Satie’s pieces, Gema from hell does not allow me to see this, mon sieur lx.

    I am sure you are a prestidigiteur by nature, MsScarlet!

    Thank God I have to do the paperwork only one time a year, Cie. And to be fair, I get help. Because alone I would not know what to do, seriously. The problem with working independently I have, is sometimes a little lack of self-discipline, like in: Sit at this desk and actually work for six hours, and do not hang around the web for nothing … The web is a big time consuming machine – so I am not unhappy with the fact that I can not use it in the bookmines these days!

    “Tax returns”?? Macy, are you speaking in tongues? You must be one of these Nordic seeresses who actually stand with one leg in the otherworld, wailing over the bare highlands … should go and read some Burns, or the Fairie Quenee …

Comments are closed.