Day Out

It’s Maria Himmelfahrt today, a holy day since the 9th century (Ger., Eng.); some years ago some heathens in the German gouvernement decided to skip it for economic reasons (more work days, more production, more progress – blabla); two western Laender did not follow, the tiny Saarland, and Bavaria (at least in communities with predominantly catholic population).
So it was a nice day out, sunny, but not too hot. I took some snaps that will follow without much ado for your amusement.

*

1 Kirche
Looks big, but it is just a Kapelle on the countryside.

*

2 Detail
Detail der Apsis, romanisch

*

"Repaired" linden tree, still going strong
“Repaired” linden tree, still standing strong

*

Guess
Guess.

*

Tiny old town
Tiny old town

*

Down with it!
Down with it!

*

Coffee grounds reading was not successful
Coffee grounds reading was not successful.

*

8 Kaffe 3

*

Time to leave. It took some time until I realized that it's always 14:40 there, through the whole day
Time to leave. It took me some time to realize that it’s always 14:40 there, through the whole day.

*

12 thoughts on “Day Out

  1. Was für ein wundershöner Tag! If I ever go to Europe one day, I’ll only stay in those neat tuny old towns. Forget about Berlin, München, Wien, Paris, Rome and all the others.

    ♬♪•*¨*•.¸¸♫¸.•*¨*••*♫
    Am Brunnen vor dem Toren,
    Da steht ein Lindenbaum.
    ♬♪•*¨*•.¸¸♫¸.•*¨*••*♫

  2. HimmelFAHRT…teehee.

    It took me some time to realize that it’s always 14:40 there, through the whole day. teehee, again.

    Mistress MJ enjoys your photographic journeys. Please continue.

  3. You are welcome Jon, I can show you some of these in Southern Germany. And I’ll happily let the singing part to you!

    You were asking for it, dearest MJ!

    HA, 14:40 LX: But while three loose it due to loosing catholics and winning immigrants, seven additional communities will have the holyday next year, mainly in the Unterfranken region. It does not say whether the Protestants left these areas or the Catholics have more children. Some people will do anything to avoid work!

    Too late Looby: I left my bed, my appartement and have switched on electrical devices.

  4. The clock is better than me, dear Roses. The coffee was good, they have a pretty large machine in their little Kaffe that presses the water through the ground beans.

    You are welcome here, Savannah! Just let me know when you arrive at Frankfurt.

    Sorry, Princess, no membrum virile, but Jesus’ golden loincloth seen from behind the cross.

Comments are closed.