Feudeln For Beginners

Doing what I can do best – sitting at the desk and thinking of nothing – came to a sharp end this morning. All of a sudden I heard a big “woosh” and then the unmistakable sound of water gushing out of the wall like a geyser.
It’s interesting how many things one has in a tiny kitchen, and what can get wet and grime-stained in just one or two minutes.
Something blocked the gutter pipe further down, and the lady in the flat above me started her washing machine. So I ran through the house and told people above me not to use their kitchen sink – most of them were not at home, one ogled my through the peephole in the appartement door but choose not to open. The concierge is out of reach on weekends so I used the given number for emergencies – it worked amazingly well. One hour later the plumber arrived, worked with that metal spiral, we heard a fat “woosh” somewhere down the drain and that was that. I have a reasonably clean kitchen floor now.
I was amazed at the strength with what the water came from the pipe. It carried a lot of little black blobs, first they were soft and smirching, after some time on the floor they became more stable.
I think the elbow of the pipe (Rohrknie) is one of the most underrated inventions of all times!

17 thoughts on “Feudeln For Beginners

  1. The reason was acceptable, Foam. I didn’t want to argue with that.

    Sadly we had no drain tv, MACY! Where have you been all the time? I seriously thought you quit.

    Das sind Säcke zum Dudeln, also called Sackpfeife or Bockpfeife – I do not know the different variants. Maybe Macy knows, she’s Scottish. The German word for the part under the lavabo is Knie, Rohrknie, the online dictionary translates it with elbow [pipe].

    Yes, all fixed, Hipster Yaya. Now it needs to dry and all will be fine again. I will show it to the concierge on Monday, because some “Putz” fell off.

  2. I always thought of this as a “Erzählmotiv”, a topic, wc LX. When I lived as a student in a “Wohnheim” we used to tell the new inhabitants that the rats would only climb up to the third floor through the shower vents / pipes. (There were I think two showers for the floor. The stalls had a very large opening high up in the wall for ventilation, it looked a bit awkward.)

    I was very lucky Z that the refrigerator is connected to a socket-board, and I had to put this high on the radiator (which I never use in this room) to reach the outlet in the wall, which is mounted circa one meter from the ground. Otherwise this socket would have drowned, with all the consequences. One of the first things was to disconnect the fridge.

  3. [omg! on-topic]

    Two years ago I took the tour of the World War II U-Bahn bomb shelter. The guide pointed to a sign stenciled on the wall that pointed to “ABORT.” No one, including native Germans in the group, knew what it was.

    The guide said that the NS mandated the word “ABORT” instead of “TOILETTEN” since it was of French origin or “WC” since it was of British origin. So they wanted to use a good German word instead.

  4. Your Rohrknie is called a P-trap over here… because it looks like the letter P. Glad you got everything cleared out and cleaned up! Plumbing issues can be a major pain in the ass to deal with.

  5. That’s a shame that these people do not know their native language, wc LX. Its the “abgelegene Ort”, “Abtritt”, “das geheime Gemach” – Grimm has it in the Wörterbuch – a well used word into the 20th century. “Latrine” (from Latin latrina) is out of use for at least one generation.
    One natzi-slogan was “Deutscher sprich Deutsch”, the message is clear: Avoid foreign words, Fremdwörter. BTW the Nazis did not invent this, even in the 17th century when the modern German language was refined and cultivated, and especially in the 18th (the French) century, some scholars said the same: Use German expressions, avoid Latin and French words and phrases. LAter, in the 20th century, this lead to some very strange words. I will never forget the “Zerknalltreibling”, and still today do not know whether it is a joke or a serious recommendation!

    P-trap sounds quite right, dear Ponita! I bet all jokes are already taken.

    No worries, Roses – all solved. And there was no terrible stench. My kitchen is tiny, but it features a very large window!

    This was excellent, Hipster Yaya! I only remembered this … sorry.

  6. HA! I had difficulty to understand it when I heard it first, LX. “Zer-knallen” means as much as “explodieren”. “Treibling” is a very unusual, but correctly built form; it means something that “etwas (an)treibt”.
    What you see in front of you is the oh-so-Germanic form, die Verteutschung von “Explosionsmotor” [Rimshot]
    Deutscher, sprich Deutsch!

Comments are closed.