Sunday Music

It’s a good thing when you have prince-bishops in town over the centuries, simply because they usually not only lay out a garden and take care for its maintenance, but also do they commission stonework and sculptures.
This afternoon was spent in the garden (Ger., Eng.) behind the Residenz (Ger., Eng.). In the old Orangerie (Ger., Eng.) the Gartenverwaltung stores sandstone sculptures that need a little reconditioning, and some of them show musicians at work.

*

Pfeife

*

Laute

*

This little guy carries a Drehorgel, Leierkasten (Ger., Eng.), or it may be a Drehleier (Ger., Eng.): With his right hand he turns the crank, with his left he presses keys.

*

Drehorgel

*

The week that was had its ups and downs. Important is tomorrow: I have to talk to someone and the answer is very significant for me. I only hope I’ll reach the man and he will be able to give me the right replies.

This Sunday Music is a slow blues performed by the great Peter GREEN (Ger., Eng.), perfectly crafted. Do not miss JON’s “Les Dimanches en Musique” (at least he promised that he’d post something, eh? I have to beg Jon’s pardon: Like me he was late, so when I crawled in my bed early Monday morning he had not yet posted; meanwhile he put up a very touching piece of music, no need for silly remarks here!) and Mr. MANLEY’s site, who posts every Sunday music under the title “Sunday Drive“.

*

*

Bonustrack: If you like it loud and dirty, here’s Shannon CURFMAN (Ger., Eng.) with a version of Oh Well.
It’s not all lost.

14 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. What a lovely place to spend a day in the garden Mr Mags. The Musical sculptures look very interesting and i think it would be quite fun to have a go at identifying all the instruments depicted…
    Your musical choice is… as always… most enjoyable, I just layed back and imagined myself in these wonderful gardens…
    Have a great week and I hope that your plumbing issues have been well and truly sorted…

  2. Thank you dear Princess. Say, after the debutant gown – what are you actually working on? Didn’t you mention a kind of collection some posts ago? I hope your garden is recovering and you can see the first signs of spring already!

  3. Excellent music choice, young man! Great for a smooth monday start! And beautiful pics too! Good thing there was a prince-bishop to commission these wonders.
    I cross my fingers and toes for you so that the guy gives you the right replies.

    Take care! *leaves to start the recommended blog tour*

  4. No answers!? I suppose that’s marginally better than the wrong answers…

    Lovely music, perfect for winding down in time for bed, which is where I’m headed, to dream of musical statues.

  5. Superbe!
    I had never heard this version before. My big sister had a lot of LPs back in the 70s-80s and I used to sneak into her bedroom to listen to all these great bands from The Doors to Led Zepplin, and Fleetwood Mac was amongs them too but I cannot recall hearing this one by Mr. Green.

    And Ms Curfman surely knows how to smoke up a room!

    Seeing the statue of der Leirmann, a few verses from Wilhelm Müller comes to my mind:
    “Drüben hinterm Dorfe steht ein Leiermann,
    Und mit starren Fingern dreht er was er kann.
    Barfuss auf dem Eise wankt er hin und her.
    Und sein kleiner Teller bleibt ihm immer leer”.

    In the other verses of the poem we come to learn that der Leiermann is actually the angel of death.

    In time of adversity (and I’ve been through a lot lately), keeping our mind focused on the best outcome possible is hard, but to me, there is no other way. I learned to keep my mind as open as possible: sometimes, solutions and/or answers can comes from places or people we least expected.

    Bonne Chance!
    Hugs
    Jon

  6. I agree with Eryl *waves hello*: no news is good news for the moment, so there’s still hope for a favourable answer next Monday. But sorry, young man, I can’t keep crossing my fingers till then… my arthrosis, you know… *bends the end and middle joints of her fingers in pain*

    Angels of death… omg they make me think of Doctor Who’sWeeping Angels!

  7. I hope the man doesn’t keep you waiting or put you on hold. And I hope it’s a real man, not a recorded man. It’s Wednesday morning now, maybe you’ve already heard from the man at this point.

  8. Musical statutes … there were interesting automatons, as early as in Greek times. And of course in the 17th and 18th centuries. I will keep it stored in my head, dear Eryl.

    Believe me Jon, I know what you are talking about. But this little fellow surely plays something swinging – no WInterreise in Golden October! Maybe I’ll photograph him in the coming winter with a little snow on his hat.

    Carissima Yaya, I never have seen Dr. Who – so thank you for this nice assortement of monsters!

    It’s an all too real man, Bobby, no record, no hologram. I heard nothing; it’s next Monday. I hope things will speed up afterwards.

  9. Dear Mago, (from Wikipedia) Doctor Who is a British science-fiction television programme produced by the BBC. The programme depicts the adventures of a Time Lord—a time-travelling humanoid alien known as the Doctor. The series first aired in 1963.

    Your British followers surely know him very well. My grandchildren never miss an episode.

    Among the scariest monsters the Doctor finds in his time travels are the weeping angels (an ancient race of aliens whose usual mode of feeding is to send their victims back in time, which creates time energy to feed on. When they are not being observed by another being, they can move very quickly and silently, but when they are being observed, they become “quantum-locked”, occupying a single position in space and becoming stone. In this state, they are frozen and difficult to destroy. They cannot suppress this reaction. If two Weeping Angels were to look at each other at the same time, they would be trapped in stone form until an outside force moves them apart. To prevent this, they often cover their eyes while moving, which makes them look as though they are weeping) — description also from Wikipedia.

    Now you know why the statues give me the shivers…

    Schlaf gut, young man!

Comments are closed.