Sunday Music

What a nice day: No fog, even a hint of sunlight, toasty even; no screaming in the house – the mother of the year downstairs finally learned to keep her big stupid mouth shut; no bills in the letterbox, and a good book to read: MULSOW, Martin (Ger.): Prekäres Wissen. Eine andere Ideengeschichte der Frühen Neuzeit, 1. Aufl. Berlin 2012 [Precarious Knowledge. A Different Intellectual History of Early Modern Age]. I am glad to learn that my head is still working. Looking at MULSOW’s footnotes I realise that the literature of the 2000s and half of the 90s just passed me by, high time that I try to keep connected and avoid to get lost entirely. There were some very interesting research activities in the field of knowledge, intellectual history etc. of the Early Modern Æra, at least I recognize names of one or two modern authors he cites.
Looking for some music that would mirror the light feeling of this afternoon I found a little piece by Darius MILHAUD (Ger., Eng.), a Caprice, capriccio, something small, play~ and joyful.
I hope you like it, and may this light carefreeness stay a bit.

*

*

6 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. It may sound a bit bombastic, but basically it’s about the “bourgoise” [ = settled, arrived ] knowledge, as taught at academies and universities, and the “prekär” [ = unsettled, wild, unbehaust ], clandestine, non stable, hidden knowledge smuggled in by radicals, dissenters, or simply people who thought for themselves.
    For example: A 17th century European Christian orthodox institute of theology, regardless of the confession, simply had to suppress a text in which a theologian showed that the whole trinity-thing is not based on the texts in the bible – there is no such thing as trinity, it’s simply not there. ( I think it’s Augustinus who brought that in.) It may be correct, but would corrode one of the main unique features of one of the large monotheistic religions, and neither Wittenberg nor Rome would accept this. So our theologian has to be a bit careful.
    Another example. A theologian may prove by exact exegesis that there may have been humans before Adam, so called Prae-Adamites. Sounds not very exciting, but when you discover new worlds where there are creatures on two legs … humans? Animals? Destroy or evangelize? A seemingly odd or far-fetched piece of knowledge can become pretty important when the surrounding factors chance.
    In the end Muslow writes about the byways, alleys and backyards of the European Gelehrtenrepublik; about those not in the first row, but scholars of second or third rank, who made it or not at the university or at court, people who knew too much of the wrong kind.

  2. The weather has been very temperate here too. I’m listening to 90’s house music, which isn’t as viscerally beautiful as the piece you’ve presented, but it doesn’t make me think too much, and at this moment, I’d prefer not to be overthinking things, which is my usual M.O.

  3. Do you know too much of the wrong kind, Mago?
    Anyway, absolutely charming bit of music. I hope the carefree lightness of your Sunday carries into part of this week!

  4. Overthinking paralyses, at least in my experience, CIE.

    HA ! The author comes up with some really incredible biographies, LX. I hope the book will be translated soon; maybe I present some of that, but must read first.

    I always had in interest in “useless” and abgelegenes Wissen, Foam. So I collected a mass of information and it formed something I like to call knowledge, but it is in as much useless as I will not get paid for; there is no real usage, Anwendung; no institution or organisation for this, since the universities get streamlined and produce BAs and MAs en gros (who will be jobless afterwards, just like me, with the difference that they had no real Studium but only some more years of school) the natural habitat for oddballs shrinks dramatically.

Comments are closed.