Gone Walkies

Today’s walk around and over the hills was a bit more exhausting than usual to me – I think it’s the dreaded Frühjahrsmüdigkeit that got me.

*

Der Weech
Der Weech

*

Of course it starts blooming all around – see this for example :

*

Die Blaue Blume !
Die Blaue Blume !

*

Our humble village now sports a new pond – I think Weiher is the adequate word for it. Next year a local Gartenschau, horticultural show, will take place, three small villages will work together, and of course preparations are on their way. It means that a lot of  fruit-bearing trees are planted – what I full heartedly support ! – and that the whole Flur generally will be tidied up. It is a pretty large areal after all, and visitors will have to walk a lot. I think it is a good thing – especially because as a nice side effect some earlier plans to build a new industrial area now are definitely cancelled. Here is a look at the pond :

*

Der See, der See !
Der See, der See !

*

Interestingly the frogs simply are there – as if they grew from the soil.
Spot the frog !

*

Spot the frog 1

*

Another one.

*Spot the frog 2

*

These were mighty unimpressed by me staring at them.

*Frogs

*

Thank you for your patience.

15 thoughts on “Gone Walkies

  1. Thank you for taking us on your Spaziergang. Walking with Mago is an ideal way to walk .. in a comfy chair while you do all the work. .. 🙂
    Soon you will walk by the pond and see all the Kaulquappe. I used to catch them and watch them grow.

  2. yes, you spotted frogs, but missed the nursery!
    go back soon & find zillions of tadpoles….there are gobs of eggs there!

  3. I have been known to spend much of a day by the pond watching tadpoles hatch. I love frogs – and wildlife ponds in general. Endlessly fascinating.

  4. Eagle eye Scarlet !

    Lumps of spat, Foam – they will run over each other. I can not remember to have had a glass of Kaulquappen at home as a kid, maybe my mother did not want to have them in the kitchen.

    I am looking forward the summer months when all these new frogs will sing through the night, dear Norma

    Yes, it seemed a bit overcrowded there, Frosch LX. And Foam already explained it, it’s simply written-as-spoken: Nobody around here uses a short “e” in “Weg” and the “g” is most likely softened to something like “ch”.

    I spend my early childhood at the banks of the river Itz, Z, always looking for what kreucht & fleucht – but to this day I can not spot the difference between a frog and a toad. My grandmother always warned me not to touch a toad.

  5. @ Foam & Herr Mago: Danke! I always learn something here. I don’t know what I don’t know about regionalisms, so they are also in the vast Froschsee von Hochdeutsch that I don’t know either.

  6. Popular wisdom says you should not touch a toad because you will get warts from it – this is not true. But toads have poisson glands against enemies which can irritate your mucous membranes – so maybe you should not eat it 😉 In former times toad poisson was used as an elixir – some contents are similar to digitalis.

  7. Oh, you are paddling well on that Froschsee, Frosch LX !
    Thank you for the link – six out of eight rescued, two not yet located, with one possible down in Middle-Earth – not that bad after all. The devil drives Corvette ?

    Grandmother and her mother knew one or two things about that, Anna K.. A cooked and concentrated toad could be part of the Hexensalbe, together with all those nice things that grow in garden and forest. I wish I’d have the time (and means) to work myself into this matter. We could fly high like a kite ! Isn’t toadstool (“Krötensitz”) the name of poisonous mushrooms ?

  8. Very pretty flowers…and lovely stream too.
    I remember vaguely abt some anticancer/ antibiotic being made from the toad skin… maybe it was experimental. or wishful thinking.
    Giocchi’s beautiful blog has lovely uses of paper, including awesome cut out and calligraphy.

  9. Thank you for the link Foam – all that is a white dot on my map …

    I am sure whatever these toads produce can find a good use, Austere. Looking at pages like Giocchi’s makes me wish I’d have at least some skills with my hands. If you are interested in calligraphy, there is the lady of wonky words.

Comments are closed.