What I saw Yesterday

I spent yesterday in Middle Franconia – spent is right as I had scrapped together my last money to go there for business reasons, but this is not interesting here. It was a kind of country fare, so there was a lot of technical tools for the grown up boys. Something like this :

*

Amazone
I have no clue what AMAZONE is good for. But it’s huge.

*

Of course there were other things to watch. I am generally very bad with the photographing of humans. Really everybody I ever took a picture of was disappointed with the result. I generally prefer to photograph non-animated objects, this is an excuse for the following pictures.

They do not raise pigs in this area, at least not very much. There were some piglets on show, but they simply lay around and had no intention to do anything but sleep – a good choice. I could not take a picture because it was too dark in their shed, I generally avoid the flash light.
What they take pride in the area is their cows. Lovely animals. From the 17th century onwards there was even a local “Schlag”,  a special breed, distinguished by colour, appearance and character. It started with experiments in the 17th century and lasted until cow plagues at the beginning of the 20th century thinned the herd, and a second wave through WWI finally eradicated them. Some individuals of this old – well I do not know the right term, sorry, it was no “race” – “Schlag” survived in other areas, and there always was talk about re-breeding, but it was not possible. There were simply too few left.
Anyway, they have cows there, they are proud of them, and they are lovely.

*

The right one was licking her "Maul" with her very large tongue.
The right one was licking her “Maul” with her very large tongue.

*

Another kind of animal they took pride in & were always very interested in is sheep.

*

Sheep family, resting

*

That’s ME !

*

I also had a look at the poultry. They have a lot of different races, sorts etc. These are just out of the egg and rest under a warming light.

*

Glickala

*

“Glickala” is the name for these small creatures in my native language. Finally there were some stalls with rabbits and generally lovely furry animalcula. I have no clue how to distinct them, like hare from rabbit and so on. I like their air of friendliness.

*

Brown Rabbit full frontal

*

White Rabbit
White Rabbit

*

Of curse the local gentry showed up.

*

Herr Markgraf geben sich die Ehre
Herr Markgraf geben sich die Ehre

*

It rained a bit now and then, on some corners the wind got nasty. So I went back to the station and jumped on the train home.

*

Here you sit
Here you sit
and here you go
and here you go

*

16 thoughts on “What I saw Yesterday

  1. Those are lovely pix. Thanks for sharing.

    Those are really fine livestock. It would be a great accomplishment if they could somehow revive the former cattle breed. I always like looking at the farm animals when I go to a county fair or rodeo.

    I don’t know what the AMAZONE does, but I would like to take it for a drive out on the farm.

  2. Next to the AMAZONE stood this one, a HORSCH in red. Both axles are dirigible, small and high wheels, and I am sure that additional wheels can be fixed to minimize the pressure on the ground – it looks like something that can you take anywhere, Rinder LX. In the halls were at least four stands with gps-based technology, one can run big machines with a joystick from the office !

    Hello and welcome Dinahmow, thank you for your first comment here. Then these things at the end of the AMAZONE are foldable crossbeams. This may be useful when you have to work a really large field, I can not see them work on our traditionally small pieces of land ; even after the “Flurbereinigung”, or consolidation, there are fields larger than, say one hectar ? Maybe it works here if a cooperative buys it or runs it, like they do with the large harvesters : For one farmer it’s too expensive, but for ten it works.

  3. Green ones for agricultural and similar machines. It means they are fully street legal & there was something with taxes. But I think the HORSCH and AMAZONE are not allowed on the Autobahn, because there is a minimum speed of – oh dear, 80 km/h ? Of course they are capable of even more. But I think they could become a bit unstable then.
    Modern farm tractors give a very good acceleration up to 60 km/h with half- or fully-automated gear change. I think the AMAZONE would be nearly invincible in a truck trial.

  4. While awesome in their size, I don’t like big farm equipment like that. They make me nervous.
    However, I loove the animals, especially the cute ‘Gickelchen’ or Gickelsche 🙂
    Thanks for taking us on your adventure!

  5. These machines can be fear inducing – and there are a damn lot of accidents throughout the year when kids and other persons get run over. After all they are damn large Foam. As a student I worked in a Spedition, and believe me I know something about blind spots & heavy machinery. Nevertheless they are also very fascinating. One deals with real KRAFT.

    LGS – they teach how to make cheese (what else to do with the milk of some hundred cows any day ?), they teach how to run a mensa / large kitchen – I have good memories of their cooking ! The kitchen saw very very long queues ; not only the cheese departement, but also where the Ochsenbraten was given out (yeah, a whole one, finished circa 12:30 [!], prepared / roasted since the evening before) – I had no time for this & and stole a Brötchen

    I watched her for at least a quarter of an hour IDV. And took a series of photographs. They had a pretty long series of fresh born calves too, some younger than a day, hiding in straw. The cows are magnificent, the herd is impressive in it’s own, and the facilities are brand new, modern and cow-proof. They really love their cows there, and gets the feeling that the cows like it too.

  6. These are really great fotos. Thank you for sharing your adventure with us. I like the bunnies and the sheep and the baby chicks fotos. That is one huge farm machine! The pic of the cows had me chuckling, because, they look great and hilarious with their pose and awesome coloring; but they also look like they are wearing ankle bracelets similar to the ones that the police use to monitor criminals who are confined to the house and certain areas, limiting their movements. These must be some trouble making cows 🙂

    The guy in the period costume looks fantastic and makes the atmosphere fun. The train seat looks clean and very colorful; and the window is nice and big and provides a great big clear view. Your fun fotos made me smile and laugh. Thank you for sharing them with us.

  7. Country fare! Did you mean ‘breed’ of cow, instead of ‘race’ of cow?
    Meanwhile, it is peculiar to see the machinery all shiny and new… they don’t stay that way for very long!
    SX

  8. It’s difficult with these words, because 1) I have absolutely no clue how the biological classification works, thus 2) have no clue about the German names, and 3) so can not translate it correctly. And, as I learned when diving into the violent history of the last century, there is a difference between “race” and “Rasse”.
    I think you are right, dear MsScarlet, I will use the word breed, and it surely describes it best.

Comments are closed.