Sunday Music

In the last week you learned everything about curtains here, were reminded of checking your spam-folder more often, and finally were shown the attraction of the village, ruinous remains of an 18th century investment that went terribly wrong. What more can you ask for ?
Sunday Music of course.
This week’s musical interlude is a poetic piece of chamber-music by the Piedmontese Leone SINIGAGLIA (Eng.) (1868-1944), performed by Quartetto Tamborini. SINIGAGLIA visited BRAHMS (1833-1897) in Vienna, worked with old DVORÁK (1841-1904) in Prague. He collected many popular songs of his beloved Piedmont and in 1909 published a suite Piemonte that TOSCANINI often put on his programs.
SINIGAGLIA was a respected mountaineer, notably in the Dolomites (Ger., Eng.) ; his book about these adventures, Climbing reminiscences of the Dolomites (1898), is called a classic.
I hope you like the music, perhaps a bit “sperrig”, cumbersome, at first, but worth to listen & relaxing imho. Let’s hope for an uneventful and peaceful week.

*

*

16 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. Beautiful! I knew nothing of Sinigaglia. Do I hear some echoes from Strauss’ Metamorphosis? I’ll definitely check out the Suite Piemonte. Amazing how many composers out there who have produced mastepieces that end up in complete oblivion.

    Have a great week
    Hugs
    Jon

  2. I am going to steal your phrase ‘ruinous remains’ and use it often; I feel it should have some sort of role in my life… I may keep it for personal usage, or, when drunk, I might throw it at people I’m not particularly fond of.
    Sx

  3. Is the phrase “dim-witted gerbil” available? If so, I would like to reserve it for myself. My big job today is to do the laundry and I forgot to start the dryer!

  4. That’s nothing, Mr Lax, I once tried to cook a meal and forgot to turn the oven on… and on another occasion I turned the oven on but left my culinary preparations on the kitchen work top.
    This is why I always have fish fingers on standby.
    Sx

  5. Perhaps this CD from 2005 (forgot the title, hortus amoenus or something) could be a starting point. I have no idea whether SINIGAGLIA is published somewhere completely. And there is always a lot to discover Jon – that is one of the good sides of youtube.

    Yes, this will teach them, dear Scarlet – taking a good swig of white and then – bang ! – “rruinous rremains !” The German actor Hans Albers says somewhere in a forty’s Durchhaltefilm : “Ich bin’n Wrrack!” (“I’m a wrrreck!”). Best combined with a stare upwards, into the big white nothing …

    One day these machines will start when you tell them to do so. And they will remind you when you forgot it – like “Hey – shall I dry it now or what ?” What do expect from a drier ? Discussions will arise. Insulted machines will refuse to work. They will communicate to each other and the car will take revenge for his friend, the angry drier. Yes, automatogeddon is near, von LX. So be happy that you still have a button to forget !

    Fishfingers should be so easy – it’s the only readymade food I always managed to ruin dear Scarlet : Burnt on the outside, frozen in the middle, that’s how fishfinger must be ! I’d rather do a whole fresh fish, or a nice safe can of herring in tomato-sauce.

  6. Does ‘Durchhalte’ mean diarrhoea? I seem to remember using the word in an excuse I once gave to my German teacher: Ich bin enschudigen sie bitte mich fur meine abwesenheit lets woche Frou Fakner, ich hatte shocking durchalte und wir had ran out of toiletten papier, ich mussste stamp meine feet und wait fur it to dry. Or something similar.

    Lovely piece of music, it reminds me of one long car advertisement.

  7. Elegance ; style, seemingly without effort ; distance ; an image (strange website, sorry James, no clue what that is), but I like the picture very much.

    “Durchhalte” may be related to the shits but is does not equal diarrhoea, sorry Mitzi. Goebbels, el supremo of the arts (self-styled) and head of German propaganda until ’45 produced a lot of “stick it out”-fillums through the war. The “blonde Hans” Albers was to star in some of them. Albers did not like the Nazis, he stood to his “half-jewish” partner, avoided to be seen with nazi head-honchos, but made propaganda films. The most interesting one (“Große Freiheit Nummer 7”) was binned by Goebbels, too dark, too fatalistic.
    Albers was a heavy drinker, the 12 years of shits did not help, he jokingly called himself the “Maharadsha of Wiskeypur”. There lies the reason for his famous thousand- miles-stare: He was short-sighted too and staff had to hang large posters with his text outside the camera view – so Hans is always trying to see and recognize his lines, when he stares into eternity … He died in his sixties on stage.
    What car, Mitzi ? Not a Twingo I guess.

  8. Thank you for the information regarding Hans Albers, he reminds me a bit of Captain Birdseye. A friend of mine died on stage, whilst miming to Liza Minnelli’s Ring Them Bells, she didn’t die in the literal sense, it was just a lack lustre performance. Strange you should mention the Nazis, I was only thinking about them the other day whilst visiting Bradfordistan’s town centre.

    Not a Twingo, I was thinking more of a Fiat Multipla

  9. Perfect Sunday music, even on a Tuesday night, it reminds me of watching silent films with my mother on winter Sunday afternoons.

    I hope your week has been peaceful and uneventful thus far.

  10. ” … watching silent films with my mother on winter Sunday afternoons” – Really ? I mean, you both really did this ? What kind of films, Palimpsest ? Old silent movies, private super-8s without sound ? I am curious !
    It became cold around here over the last days, really even a bit biting. The week was peaceful until now, I hope it will stay this way.

  11. Glad that you like it IDV – this Halloween-thing went past me, thank God, and kids do not show up here for sweets or stuff. I’d feel pretty annoyed if they would.

  12. [buzzzz. buzzzz. buzzz.]

    Trick-or-Treat!

    This is my third Halloween in Berlin and I have not had any trick-or-treaters drop by. I have seen Halloween paraphernalia in a few stores for sale and/or decorations. Have also seen school children and young adults (university age) in costume who looked like they were going to parties. Yesterday in Köpenick I saw a lady in a cool witch costume supervising pumpkin carving for children.

    It is a fun holiday for kids and my sister and I enjoyed it growing up. It may develop differently here and not involve the door-to-door thing. But the kids are learning about it.

  13. I did not grow up with it von LX. We went to the lampion-parade on Martinstag – my lampion always burnt down, because I was too eager to play around with the flame – but there was nothing like this “trick or treat”-thing going on. Last day of October always was “Reformationstag” in my childhood, so a pretty dull and earnest day, Well it’s Protestantism after all, they do not laugh. Catholics are allowed to laugh, but Protestants have to wear black and be earnest – what a drag …
    I can not remember when Halloween started to happen. Here it was something the American soldiers and their families celebrated, and then some of that stuff was in the shops. I think I saw it the first time in the eighties when foreign students organised a Halloween party in the “Studentenhaus” I lived in. But it was not common for children to go around in the neighbourhood to collect sweets or stuff. Here in this “high-rise-building” (yes, I know) it would be a drag for them to walk around and get frustrated, simply because most people (tenants, students) are not here and then they stand in front of closed doors.
    What I remember from my childhood, back in the Itz-valley, is when we carved faces in some fruits, I do not know whether it were pumpkins, and put candles in them. We also built some structures from snowballs and also put candles in them. it looked eery and lovely at the same time, but I think we did this in December, around the twelve nights or so, or in Advent, I’m simply not sure about this.
    I am sure that the kiddies will learn over time and that it will evolve. It will be further adapted and possibly over time it will be a ritual, something one does – ein Brauch – and perhaps will find other forms.

Comments are closed.