“S had’se scho’ ei’gschuggeld.”

It was a pretty fast week, Frayday already. My co-driver and me slowly get warm and used to each other. She does this job for some years and one of the passengers is her own son. I have no qualms about asking her how things are done, what is best practice – one or two predecessors had the idea that they had invented the wheel anew, made the daily travel seemingly a bit tense. And I learned some byways and runs I did not know, despite I’m living & driving here for thirty years. I think the crew of tour 107 accepted me now, it’s a bit difficult to say when two passengers can not articulate in the usual way ; but as far as I rate my co-driver, she would have absolutely no scruples to have me kicked out of the bus if she wouldn’t like what she sees on a daily basis.
The only thing I still have problems with is my sleep pattern. I can get up early astoundingly well, but I sleep badly through the night and need to sleep through the day (still) too much, but practice will do it.
Blogger LX wanted to know what “schuggeln” means. It is the gentle form of “rütteln” I think – it is already in the sound, onomapoeticly : The pointed “rr” runs via a short and disharmonic “ü” to a hard double-t – “rrütt ! rrütt !”, while the soft longish “sch” gently moves over a warm “u” to a friendly and soft double-g -“schugg’l, schugg’l”.
As I mentioned in a previous comment, it is not found in the Deutsches Wörterbuch of Jacob and Wilhelm GRIMM, what I find astounding. It is an expression used in Southern dialects, like Hessisch, Pälzisch, Fränkisch, the diverse Suebian tongues, I doubt in Bavarian. I think “schütteln”, “rütteln” und “schuggeln” basically describe the same action, that is to shake something or someone, but with different intentions and intensities of the action. One would never say in German “rüttel’ das Kind” / “shake the kid”, but “schuggel’ den Glenna” is well understood everywhere South of the river Main, in the Palatinate, Hesse – civilised regions where wine grows -, while those inhabitants of the flat lands up North and the wild mountain people this site of the Alps may not understand it.
“Einschuggeln” describes when things slowly find their place, when a routine is formed. The image behind it is imho the “gerüttelte Maasz” – not “eine Maß Bier” as Foam suggested, because a liquid can only be poured into a jar until the container is full : It is of no use to shake the beer mug, it does not get “fuller”.
But if you have to pour something ground into a container, like coffee, flour, or something that consists of small grains, like wheat or rice, it is useful to shake and rattle the container now and then, so that the stuff you pour in has a chance to settle, to distribute itself into the corners of the thing you use, be it a jar or a sack ; and air that is between the small particles has a chance to leave. That is what you can see in the supermarket of your choice, where a coffee grinding machine is installed for customers ; or you can watch this when concrete is poured into a form : This sits on a “Rüttelplatte”, a vibrating compactor (as my dictionary calls it) that shakes the whole construction / form and thus prevents holes from air bubbles to form in the wet stuff.
As for persons, they may become “aufgerüttelt” – either in the direct sense that they are shaken to wake them up, or they are shaken in another, figurative sense, but they are not “aufgeschuggelt” : Schuggeln is too friendly for this.

 

14 thoughts on ““S had’se scho’ ei’gschuggeld.”

  1. btw I find this realtek audio thingy working pretty good with “Room” & “Powerful” – even my veryvery old sony headphone gives a decent rambam with this setting ! Works even with classic music.

  2. I can notice improved sound quality with Bose noise-canceling headphones. Otherwise, I have trouble discriminating much difference with headphones or earphones due to hearing loss.

  3. Sorry LX, I forgot that you have to use Norma’s horn.

    Martini is the devil’s pee – definitely not geschuggelt. Drinks werden geschüttelt, IDV, if you really have to make things difficult with all this mixing and glasses and stuff …

Comments are closed.