Eclipse

Today’s solar eclipse was the non-event of the day.
Driving a small bus for roughly four hours a day leads to increasing use of local radio stations – some make yer ears bleed, really – and since Monday one of the “top news” was today’s solar eclipse. “All you need to know about” – “where to get the “glasses”, which of course are no glasses, but simple paper-cuts with a kind of film to look through (one idiot seemingly bought such a thing on ebay for more than 300 € (!)) – and special interviews with astronomers, optometrists and anybody who felt the need to say something about this “event of the century”.
Yoh.
I thought about taking pictures, not of the sun of course, but of the light and the shadows. When something similar had happened around here in 1999 (Ger., Eng.) I watched the event from a small hill, and I still remember the eery shadows : They turned into something grey, blue-ish, lead coloured, and a gush of wind came up from nowhere, a strange and memorable experience.
This morning I toyed with the idea to go on top of another hill and look out, but at 10:30 (in the middle of the “event of the century”, when the moon’s shadow covered the most part of the sun) the light became a bit “fahl” or “falb” – sorry, I am not sure how to translate this correctly. The colours faded, all was quiet, but the shadows had not changed – they were still dark / black / grey – it had not the quality of 1999. So I put meself on my sofa, slept for an hour and then went on to my afternoon drive, finishing-off on Frayday is at three o’clock, two hours earlier than usual.
I watched a big Merc smashing a little Hyundai to pieces while I gently travelled next to the river, really these small cars are a drag. Squish’em I say, this is Audi / BMW / Mercedes / Porsche country, the bigger the better.
Every day I see an accident nearly avoided or happening just in front of me. What one learns is to drive in a way to arrive in time at a certain location, it’s annoying to stand around idling when too early, it’s annoying to stand last in line when coming too late, idling again. What one learns is to drive “vorausschauend”, anticipatory or foresightful perhaps, someone will make a mistake, and one better keeps a box full of wheelchairs out of  any trouble. And what one learns is that these foldable signs on the vehicle, bright red and signalling “this is a bus filled with kids”, can sometimes be very helpful – even hard-core-racers may feel the impetus to step on their brakes when this shield finally shows up in their limited field of vision. This applies not for construction vehicles, these are natural enemies.
The eclipse was on live stream on the Bavarian Broadcasting Station, and that was that.

Maybe I’m driving Jesus and don’t know it ? I’m told HE just left Chicago …

*

*

13 thoughts on “Eclipse

  1. When you live in the UK, everyday is like having a partial, no, total eclipse, with the number of clouds blotting out the sun. If it wasn’t for all the hype in the media I wouldn’t have known they’d been one, no dogs howling at the moon, no birds flying into windows and acting strange, all in all a bitter disappointment.

  2. I’m very sorry to hear this dear Norma ! Hope the kiddies are not involved !
    Here we have just a non-event, strange things on the road, & some exhaustion, but sleep will do, and I am terribly ripe for it …

  3. I never remember any eclipses when I was a child, but there seem to have been a number since, some of them partial. Too cloudy yesterday, I was on a train and I didn’t even notice that there was any darkening of the sky. They’re quite fun when it’s a clear day, but maybe it’s because I’m old – it’s just a natural occurence that it doesn’t seem worth getting excited about, as far as I’m concerned.

  4. When you have seen one … btw dear Z, you and “old” in one sentence doesn’t quite fit together in my humble opinion.

    Thank you for the suggestion, but I am a terrible co-driver Grouchy – I’d die from a heart attack within a year !

  5. It was a non-event here. Gloomy start to the day, that got more gloomy and then once the eclipse had finished, the clouds cleared and it was bright and sunny. Pfft.

  6. I saw it… or put it another way, I could have seen it because it was bright and sunny here. Of course I didn’t see it because I didn’t want to go blind and be attacked by Triffids.
    Sx

Comments are closed.