Sunday Music

It’s remarkable cool today with only 33 °C. The forecast murmurs about heavy rainfall, storm & hail, but I do not trust them, their prophecies went wrong all too often.
Looking over the land I see all the fields harvested. Immediately after the combine harvester left the ground they started to work the earth ; not yet ploughing, I do not know how they are calling it and what actually they do, but the farmers were quick with it, pulling wide, rattling constructions over the fields behind their over-sized tractors. These machines look like toys from a distance.
The last week was un-eventful in magoland. I pottered around my appartement and finally started to read regularly again, I really had missed it. Next week a trip to the library is unavoidable, the list of books I want to see, grew long. And if I do not want to see any paper any more, there is always the cellar with its dragon-collection and basilisk-exhibition. I really must search for my grandfather’s papers now. I tried to write a decent post, but the heat had my brain melted, nevertheless I’ll try again.
Today’s Sunday Music is titled Improvisation number 13 in A minor, by French composer Francis POULENC (Ger., Eng.). It is dedicated to “Madame Auguste LAMBIOTTE”, this may be Rose LAMBIOTTE (1891-1964), the wife of Auguste, – a Belgian family POULENC felt very connected with (archive, see series IV).
I hope you like the music, and there shall be a peaceful week ahead for all of us.

*

*

16 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. Those Combine Harvesters are amazing machines. Perhaps the other machines are tilling the plant remains back into the soil?

    My grandparents had a small farm where the machinery (plow, cutter thing, and wagon) were all powered by a horse and mule team. Much like this.

  2. I watched one large vehicle go up a hill, through all the dust it looked a bit like a ship in the mist, a large landship. They move astoundingly fast. I think you are right, they “mixed” the remaining cuts of straw into the soil, but it of course did not go down as much as ploughing. I do not know the correct terminus for this activity LX.
    I think my grandfather Alfred started farming only after the war. He somehow managed to lay his hands on a small tractor. It was used for ploughing (but was almost too weak for this task), cutting, and via a power-take-off shaft it drove a “Windmaschine”, an old fashioned threshing machine. As far as I remember he never had horses. Other farmers worked with horses up to the 1970s, They were especially useful for pulling logs out of the woods on rough & un-viable ground.

  3. My other grandfather worked for a sawmill. He drove the ox teams that dragged the logs out of the forest to the road where they could be loaded onto trucks and taken to the mill. The oxen were huge and powerful but seemed to be very gentle.

  4. 33 °C? Relatively cool? Oh, dear Mago, I’d rather get pushed into my own oven by a couple of pesky kids!

    The dragons and basilisks in the library’s cellar sound fascinating! Plus, a cool cellar may be a welcome respite from the heat?

  5. Goodness – seven pairs of them beasts ! God alone may know how much the log may weight ! This must have been a tremendous forest. They used the horses to pull single logs out of steeple situations. The wood was then transported by river. Even small creeks were dammed up, and log after log was brought down to the larger river, collected at some place, bound together to rafts and then send on their way to Frankfurt or even Holland.
    Oxen are no bulls …

    No pesky kids around, dear IDV. But I will go & search something I can throw onto the oven right now, I hear thunder in the distance – or is it just my tummy ?

  6. I do like the music. However, combine harvesters give me the willies .. I have had a couple of relatives die in a combine harvester accident ..
    With continuing heat .. the basement sounds kind of inviting .. especially since you have interesting beasties dwelling in it.

  7. Harrowing, perhaps? Although that is usually done after ploughing, I think, to break down the biggest clods of earth. It’s similar to ploughing but scratches the surface rather than going deep into the soil.

    I liked the music, I don’t know much about Poulenc.

    It was around 25º today, which was pretty hot for England. We were working outside and we were tired out by the end. i hope it means I will sleep soundly tonight!

  8. All these machines are dangerous Hoppelschaum – basically anything mechanical that moves fast must be treated with caution.

    Glad that you like it Annakamaga !

    I looked at the machinery and compared it to pictures on the web. I found that what they use is called a “Grubber”, respectively “Schwergrubber” (heavy “Grubber”) – the English wiki-article uses the lemma “cultivator”. The heavy one is a tool used in the “pfluglose Bodenbearbeitung” – tillage without a plough, which is saied to have several advantages over using a deep cutting and turning plough.
    I also do not know much about Poulenc – it just made me curious who the lady would be. Why the materials are stored in Texas I have no clue about.
    I learned to know about Poulenc as author of (catholic) spiritual music – and only later found that he did a lot of light music, and au contraire was well known as a composer of “easy” music before WWII.
    Hope you had a good nights sleep Zoe, mine was terrible.

    According to the false prophets it will stay in the higher thirties all the week, dear Roses, only next weekend will bring a little cooling down. It is all bearable as long as there is at least a little wind. Last night was terrible, the heat standing in the rooms, only in the morning I fell asleep.

  9. Yes, dangerous machines LX. And idiots who do not properly disactivate them while they poke around with sticks or bare hands.

    Raining ! How can I glue you back together, dearest Scarlet ?

  10. I think Zoe is correct with harrowing. Having lived in the country and been around tractors and hay bailers, I can attest to how dangerous they are if you do not use (what to me is) common sense in turning off power to them before working on them. The father of one of the health care aides who worked in my department got trapped and pulled into a hay bailer. It was one that made large round bales and he got rolled into the bail and crushed to death.

    We have the heat starting up again this week. Today will apparently be the coolest, with the high of 26C. By week’s end, the highs will be in the mid to upper 30s, and with the humidity, we will be back into the heat warnings. Thank the gods and little fishes I have a brand new central air conditioner.

    Glad you are back to reading, Mago. I read almost every day, even if just at night before going to sleep. Good luck at the library finding all the books you want. 🙂

  11. I listened to the Poulenc again this morning. It’s a lovely bit of piano music. The best sleep I had while sweltering in the heat in Germany and France during July was when I stayed with a cousin in Paris. She had an oscillating fan in her studio. The moving air made all the difference.

  12. Yes, the actual temperatures make a central air conditioner look very tempting Ponita ! Best wishes with all these dry walls & stuff – and Teak.

    Reminds me Hoppelschaum – there should be a ventilator in the cellar – I do not want to have another night like the last one : It took me hours to become awake this morning and I felt strubbelig the whole time. And nobody likes a strubbeligen mago !

Comments are closed.