Some Ridiculous Links

Some of you, beloved readers, expressed an interest in one title I mentioned in the previous post, Die Wiedererweckung des Lachens. Schwänke und Scherze aus dem sechzehnten Jahrhundert.
Here is a list of the content. I doubt that this book is translated, lets see whether texts in it may be available on the web. See also “jestbooks” (here).
For further reading …

Poggio BRACCIOLINI, Facetiae 1470 (something googlish)
Hieronymus MORLINI, Novellae 1520 (exists, nothing else found)
Giovanni Francesco STRAPAROLA, Vergnügliche Nächte (The Facetious Nights) 1550
Matteo BANDELLO, Novelle 1554
Francesco SANSOVINO, Cento Novelle 1560 (exists, nothing else found)

Augustin TÜNGER, Facetiae 1486 (exists, nothing else found)
Heinrich BEBEL, Facetien 1504-1514
Johannes PAULI, Schimpf und Ernst 1522 (terrible, nothing to be found, outdated links, so much for the actuality of the web)
Jörg WICKRAM, Rollwagenbüchlein 1555 (???)
Jacob FREY, Gartengesellschaft 1556/57
Martin MONTANUS, Gartengesellschaft 1558 (or later), Wegkürtzer 1557 (nothing !)
Michael LINDENER, Rastbüchlein 1558, Katzipori 1558 (exists)

From the Cent Nouvelles Nouvelles, post 1460 (translation)
From RABELAIS, circa 1550 (see the linked wikipage for links to works)
Bonaventure Des PÉRIERS, Nouvelles Récréations et Jouyeux Devis 1558
Guillaume BOUCHET, Serées 1584 (Ger. wiki, bit more detailed)
Étienne TABOUROT, Escraignes Dijonnoises 1608
Bérolade De VERVILLE, Moyen de Parvenir 1612 (only parts, about)
Sieur GAULARD, Sayings 1599 (see TABOUROT’s Escraignes, and here)

13 thoughts on “Some Ridiculous Links

  1. No hard work, just a little “duckduckgoing”, dear Dinahmow.
    The (German) literature of the 16th & 17th century was “re-discovered” a generation ago, in the 70s of the last century – but I am amazed how less is available, in original and / or translations.
    I did a little work about a writer who lived from the late 16th to the early 17th century, the major text never came into being for some (economical & personal) reasons (life !), and to my utterly satisfaction I learn that nobody (since I started in the early 90s of last century) ever has mentioned the bloke : He is basically unknown.
    The authors / writers in the little collection / anthology are all well known in the different philologies (German, English, French), but apart from some googlish scans there are no modern editions – or at least I did not find them : I confess that it was no in-depth-search.
    In the end it boils down to this : If you want to read them, you need a good (historical) library where all the books are, forget the digital swindle. If I win the lottery I will relocate to Wolfenbüttel, there is the HAB, the rest of the country is for wild boar …

  2. [Exactly !]
    Let’s don costumes and look at nice pictures of brave hunters while sipping “Goose” and “Silvaner”. Let the peasants stomp through muddy forests, we’ll care for the recipes !
    Wolfenbüttel is basically in the middle of nowhere, and it did not really improve since the border “vanished”. But the library is one of the main centres of the “Gelehrtenrepublik“.

  3. Remember when I published a post entitled If it’s not on the Internet, does it exist?? This proves my point.

    What you said is correct… “if you want to read them, you need a good (historical) library where all the books are, forget the digital swindle.”

    Time and time again, I have searched in vain online for information that I know exists in book form or in journals but cannot be found in an Internet search.

    Thank you for your effort and the links.

  4. Hear! Hear! Thanks for the links. I love reading collections of fairy tales & folktales– it’s a glimpse into the mindset, imagination, culture, & beliefs of people from a certain time in history. Thanks for the informative links on The Facetious Nights & Cent Nouvelles Nouvelles.

  5. Yes, dearest MsScarlet, you are very welcome to the hallowed halls of HAB ! There are tons of calligraphic “Musterbücher” and I am sure we’ll find a lot to write for you.

    Good old Nena, LẌ. She is indestructible, grandmother & touring (I think).

    No worries MsScarlet, what could already go wrong ?

    If it’s not digital it is not true – at least some people may get this idea, dearest Mistress. The digitalisation marches on & on, but I doubt that it ever will replace all sources (in the widest sense of the word) totally. In fact it creates the new problem how to archive the new digital stuff, between disc rot and outdated formats, broken links & incompatible hardware requirements, and self-absorbed a-historical hipsters who can not behave in a library. I would shackle one to the stake in front of the main entrance and put a cap on his unshaven head, saying “I stand here because I talked loudly in the reading room.” Persistent offenders will be sent to a charterhouse.

  6. Fairy tales and folktales – I remember that one of the collections plays a role as source for Grimm’s tales Eros, but be damned if I could find it now, sorry !

  7. I have just started clicking on these links that you have so thoughtfully provided, but before I go any further and get absorbed into a link-clicking journey of hours (maybe days), I just wanted to say: thank you!
    (And in reciprocation, I have provided you with some Star Trek links in my most recent post – feel free to click or ignore)

  8. I would be very excited if you would enter the literary world around 1500 IDV, there is a lot to discover ! And about discovering is also the journey into space, but I surely did not expect the “Cardassians” there. And of course I follow your invitation to a click-fest – who am I to ignore the readily linked amount of information provided by a gentle host ? And thank you for putting the stake away …

Comments are closed.