Feed-Readers – A Must-Have !

I’m a bit in a mood … too much time at my hands, perhaps ?
As you know, venerated readers, hardware tends to give in, lists are prone to vanish … especially bookmarks, if not backed-up regularly – and even if so, when the hard-drive crashes, all is gone, the back-up too. Better put it on a stick.
Over time (how long am I actually blogging ? Some years now) one collects a large number of links of very different sorts, meets a lot of different people online via blog. To some of these persons a kind of connection forms, hopefully mutual & not one-sided, it may be called “personal” in all variations & shades. The bless of anonymity. In some cases this anonymity is broken through, the “per-sona”, the mask,  put away, and a personal contact is formed via email, letters, the good old postcard, parcels, visits even.
Some die. I remember KAZ, and GeraldGee.
Others simply stop blogging and delete their blogs. In some cases the blog simply has fulfilled its job as an outlet, as place where to speak openly about a wide range of personal things – so in a way it is done. A kind of crisis-situation may have changed, other personal circumstances changed, whatever – this is over & deleted.
Other bloggers remain silent for longer periods. And it “feels” “natural” – this sounds stupid. What I want to say is that the connection is not cut off – one (= me) “knows” that there will be a comment or a mail, sometime in the future. Just a friendly “hey – I’m still alive”, or something like that.
And there are blogs that simply fall silent, stay or stop, and nothing happens anymore. And one wonders what has happened. Did something happen ? Sometimes it feels like loose ends.
So this is possibly what feed-readers are invented for, and on my former computer I had an old-fashioned feed-reader that just had to look for these blogs. And now and then I even started the program and had a look. Guess I’ll do this again.
It is a strange thing : I talk about blogs, personalised websites that are public, stored in the vast & endless digital spaces of giggle’s servers, accessible for anyone with a running computer and an internet-connection, don’t know whether a gargle-account is needed.
And still it feels wrong to put a list here, from Amanda to Macy, from Eryl to Joyce. And where is Leni ?
Looking through “the list” I realise that most of the bloggers I read are women. I have no idea about this realisation’s cultural impact or its “meaning”, it is just something I see.
In the end it is all about the power of feelings. TA …

9 thoughts on “Feed-Readers – A Must-Have !

  1. Women are more sensitive of course and if not, the can better communicate their emotions. They are better in communication in general, more intéressing, always have somethings to say.
    I have a fb page and in general, men’s comments my page. And a lot are gay. We have a lot of fun together. So it’s not only a seduction thing. Or it is ? And on men’s FB page, women comments.

    But men are more attractive to me, I’m hetero.

    In French : Les femmes sont plus sensibles mais si les hommes le sont aussi, ils ont plus de difficulté à l’exprimer. Les femmes sont meilleures en communication en général, plus intéressantes, elles ont toujours quelque chose à dire.
    J’ai une page FB et c’est en majorité des hommes qui commentent ma page. Plusieurs sont gay. Nous avons beaucoup de plaisir ensemble. Alors ce n’est pas une affaire de séduction. Ou peut-être que si? Et sur les pages FB des hommes, ce sont en général des femmes qui commentent.

  2. My own view is that blogging is a wonderful way to meet interesting people from all over the world that one would have never otherwise met. Electronic pen pals, as it were.

  3. I have made several blog connections over the years that eventually just petered out. Especially in the last two or three years, blogs seem to have more work than many people are willing to enjoy. I know my own output has steeply declined. Still, I miss many of them, like old friends you just lose touch with.

  4. Oh! So right about the blog connections.
    I formed wonderful. cyber friendships and even met some. Many are now more often on Farcebook than blogs, but it’s nice to still have contact.
    Perhaps I’ll manage to write a post this week…

  5. I love opening my blog in the morning with the anticipation of which of our little corner of Blogland has published a new post while I was sleeping. Most of the blogs that I’ve visited regularly in the decade or so that I’ve been blogging are still listed in my feed reader – Even those who have stopped for one reason or another, as I don’t want to delete them – Nostalgia!

  6. Your right about some of the reasons people blog & then stop. People & situations change. Some lose interest, others don’t have the time anymore, & a few have passed on to the next life. I am grateful for blogs, as the others above & you have mentioned, because I’ve met many wonderful people through blogging.

    Blogging is like writing letters. At first, there is the excitement of making new friends, new connections, & sharing so many things & ideas. Then, it ebbs, until others don’t write letters but send postcards or emails or instagrams or just tweet or message instead, because it’s easier or more appealing. Some still write letters, because it’s an art form & a treasure, it is worth holding on to, because we still love reading letters, even if it’s just the old ones, because they bring up memories that mean something, reminding us of the people who had (& still have) an impact on our lives.

    People come & go in our lives, like blogging, & they all share with us a piece of themselves, making us think, laugh, hope, imagine, dare to take action. They make our world more meaningful. And when they are gone, their impact on our lives & the world remains. And that’s the important thing, that while it’s wonderful to still have people around, it’s their effect & actions & meaning to our lives that are even more significant. Hopefully, we were just as important or influential in other peoples live before we part ways. Whatever happens, I’m grateful for blogging, because it has allowed me to communicate & learn, laugh & share, change & think, act & see some of the most wonderful & amazing people in this world, & has made the world a more magical, lovely, & beautiful place. And I’m glad that I’ve met so many awesome people through blogging, & that definitely includes you. So thank you for being you & for being an important part of our blogging community.

  7. I can identify with what you have written. Just last week I was reading posts that I wrote in that first year of blogging or more correctly, I was reading the funny, witty, sincere and warm comments that various bloggers had left. I was a regular visitor on most of their blogs too and I felt a strong connection with quite a few of them but as you said, many have fallen silent. And they are missed.
    Glad that you are still broadcasting.

  8. I might write a blog post soon. I was thinking about my relationship with my handbag and I thought I might write about it. There will also be pictures.
    I miss everyone who has come and gone. I was reminded of Mutley today at MJ’s party…. this may sound odd, but he helped me feel free and unselfconscious with writing blog posts, as did Dr Maroon. They were both barking. And Mr Beastie is on FB, but it’s not the same.
    I have had a ball with blogging…. yes, there have been low times, but mostly it ranks as being one of the best experiences I’ve had.
    I love you all. *Accepts award from host and exits stage left whilst quietly sobbing*
    Sx

Comments are closed.