Sunday Music

Hubah !
This is what the Marsupilami (Ger., Eng.) used to say in the German translation / edition of the Spirou & Fantasio adventure comics (Eng., Ger.) of my youth. The (then) German editor changed all the names – we’ll draw a veil over this ! – but the Marsupilami’s catchphrase stayed. Some day I have to visit Belgium, just for comics ‘n chips, and pay a visit to the Comic Strip Centre (Ger., Eng.).
But why, you may ask venerated reader, is mago hubaah-ing on this cold, windy and pretty grey Monday of the Holy Spirit (Ger., Eng.) ?
After a busy week I enjoyed the visit of a friend on Saturday. I wonder what impression of this usually tranquil little town’s life and market bustle he will take home, details spared since he’s still within the borders of this country, but my fellow countrymen are strange, and trouble sometimes wears ears like Mickey Mouse.
I spent yesterday mostly in bed in a condition of cozy doze, it was very welcome. Today I feel relaxed, soon I will set foot in the kitchen and turn raw materials into sophisticated, tasteful, (and warm !) fine dish – aah my inner Bocuse is on the rise, just call me Paul … So it’s a “Hubah !” of delight, anticipation, warm feet & clear head, quiet neighbours and hot bath – it’s the Hubah of contentment. The prospect of two weeks without driving ahead, maybe, helps a bit.
What would fit better into this very long sunday-ish afternoon than popular music from the radio ? So this Sunday Music is Torna a Surriento, or Come Back to Sorrento (Ger., Eng.), here in an instrumental version by pianist Alberto SEMPRINI (Eng.) recorded 1963 – I hope you enjoy it !

I also hope that at least a little bit of the Holy Spirit may work in this partly hellish world, and perhaps those who make the world a living hell for their fellow human beings would, in a shocking moment of fulgurant self-knowledge, realise what terrible caricature of human beings they are. At least, one is allowed to hope.

*

*

5 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. My Grandparents had a music box that played Torna a Surriento, so this is a lovely reminder of them, thank you Mago.
    I am now about to get extremely waylaid by your links to Spirou et Fantasio and Marsupilami!

    P.S. I had never heard of the “flashing like lightning” fulgurant before, so thank you for that, too.

  2. I think the Holy Spirit is best served cold in the back of a Rolls, lovely Scarlet !

    The Belgian classics – there is a lot to discover. I also liked Tif and Tondu very much. I once had found a website that showed on what some things in the stories were based – like f.e. in one they use a giant kind of all-terrain-vehicle. Such a machine really existed. I think it was mostly Maurice TILLIEUX who brought such things in. I once found out that the stories I liked most were done by him. Glad to have sent you somewhere discovering IDV 🙂
    Fulguratio, the “blitzartige” insight – flash bamm boum, and all is differnt …

  3. Ah, Semprini.

    In the days when you had to be elegant to be on TV, he seemed never to be off it, suavely introducing his performances with the line “Old ones, new ones, loved ones, neglected ones……”

    What a trip down memory lane.

  4. Glad that you like it Autolycos.
    Maybe I watched too much “news” over the days – not that there is all too much violence and atrocity, dumbness and lack of character – there is a sheer lack of elegance, style, humanity and verity. From the near East to the US – ugliness, ethical, character & intellectual deformity. The reign of brutal lies.
    Far be it from me to join the chorus of those who repeat like a litany the everything was better in the old days-nonsense. But a little bit more form, decorum and manners would be welcome, and music that earns the name. Mr Semprini was the obvious choice.

Comments are closed.