Just Jabbering

In some hours Vladimir KLITSCHKO will fight against Antony JOSHUA – one of the very few occasions I regret that I have no tv set to watch an event live. I always was interested in boxing. And can well remember when the brothers KLITSCHKO appeared on the scene. Some commenters were quick to dismiss them as “one punch wonders”, as “generic” boxers, soulless automatons etc. Now Vladimir  (Ger., Eng.) is 41, came a very long road, and after his loss of all titles against the Rummelboxer FURY he faces a critical comeback. The old man has to show that it is still in him, or give up and accept that it is over. I saw a picture of KLITSCHKO, a still taken from an interview, and if it is in any way “true”, poor JOSHUA will get the beating of his life.
A Rummelboxer btw is one of these traveling men, a kind of mercenary of boxing, who goes everywhere if the cash is right. And besides these men, there were boxing spectacles on the Jahrmarkt, the annual fair, also called a “Rummel”, a chaotic heap or pile, a tumult. Here traveling boxing companies presented their shows, and of course sooner or later one poor sod from the audience was ready to join in – he usually had no chance.
Boxing is about muscles, yes, but maybe 80% is about technique. I used to watch heavy weight fights, saw Mr TYSON come out of the corner and deliver an earth shattering bonk to his poor opponent, saw Mr FOREMAN deliver some of his very unspectacular but nevertheless devastating blows that sent men to the ground in agony, saw idiots like SANDERS, and FURY, but never saw another boxer as perfect as Vladimir KLITSCHKO.
Later I discovered the light weight classes, in which it is not about the deadly punch, the “one shot only”-thing, but where it is about speed, eye, movement – it is a dance. A sometimes bloody, always exhausting, always payneful, dance.
And sometimes I like to watch this.
The greatest dancer of all, of course, was ALI. I was removed to a sobbing heap of tears when he finally lighted the Olympian flame in Atlanta in 1996.
BTW, I just read that the house of Rosa PARKS, some older readers may remember the name, is translocated (Ger., Eng.) from Detroit to Berlin ; it is now Wriezenerstraße 19 in Wedding.
Is “history” all about forgetting ? Is “history” all about remembering ?
We see history at work, as a tool, all over Europe. It is even jeopardising the whole idea of “Europe”, replacing this idea with national narratives that draw their justifications from a certain idea of history, an interpretation & explanation that re-writes “history” in a new-national sense, while heavily using age-old stereotypes of everything alien – be it “the Jew”, “the Mohammedan” / “Islam” in general, or “the negro”. On the European periphery being gay is a crime again, and hundreds of gay men are tortured and killed in areas of the former Soviet Union, maybe in Turkey too.
We see the rise of – what ? The pendulum swings back, as it always does, and all of a sudden things like democracy, personal freedom, identity, ach name it ! – the whole grambumble – it all becomes unsafe shattered wonky – the ground we / I stood on feels wobbling.
Enlightenment is a process, yes, every generation has to do it again – I have the feeling we somehow missed the last time ? I look at videos showing young men who volunteered to fight somewhere in the Near East – and I ask myself how goddamn brain dead one can be ? And these dumb dorks were born and raised in Europe, not in the Palestinian slums.
What went wrong ?
“Europe”, this voluntary union of independent states, was a reaction to the brutal history of the most violent 20th century. After all, two worldwars started here, and maybe Germany played a little role in this. This “Europe” is based on values, shared and common, dating back to the French Revolution, later casted in the mold of these “human rights” a lot of potentates like to spit on nowadays, not only “somewhere in the East”, but in places like Poland, Hungary – and possibly France when LE PEN takes over. Oh, and like-mindedness, loyalty and sympathy played a role. Based on a shared history – again this cursed word – a history that shows us all the opposite of these values happening.
And what do I see ?
Idiots who happily abnegate all this. Who negate the “worth” of history, and write their own versions. Who instrumentalise all & everything for their own – and only for their own ! – purposes, who set “nation” as something that is superior to the individual. This rings a bell, it’s the old “Du bist nichts, dein Volk ist Alles !” I see politicians who happily lie, who happily construct “historical” rationales & motivations for their own short-sighted ideas. I see men – and sadly women too – who happily embrace the old paternalistic religious bullshit, all this patriarchal nonsense we thought to have overcome – I see idiots happily choosing unfreedom and bondage, I see praktizierte Dummheit. Self-chosen.
This is all just jabbering, incoherent, of course, of course.
Why not some music at the end ? TRB’S Power in the Darkness would be too pathetic even for me right now … let Jimi take over, no reason to get excited … 

*

*

8 thoughts on “Just Jabbering

  1. The only boxing I ever watched was in the Summer Olympics. Bouts of three rounds. The most memorable was in the 1968 Olympics where George Foreman destroyed Soviet boxer Jonas Čepulis in two rounds.

    Yes, I am excited! My absolute favorite Hendrix! Danke!

  2. I will confess I have never understood the enjoyment people get from watching two people beat the crap out of each other. Definitely not my cup of tea. But I will agree with Dinahmow and LX about the Hendrix.

  3. I don’t really “get” boxing. Or what’s going on in the so-called civilised world. Or even Jimi Hendrix. However, I do kind of like “All Along The Watchtower” as it features in Watchmen – a film I haven’t seen in a little while, and may have to watch at some point this Bank Holiday weekend so, thank you for the reminder, Mago.

  4. I’m afraid I’m another one to add to the list. I don’t find any beauty in it. It’s too brutal for my liking.

    Having said that, I think Mohammed Ali is one of the most amazing people. I adored Billy Crystal’s honouring of him at his memorial service. I was stunned to learn that he used his position and influence to support so many good cause including multi-faith projects in Israel. His loyalty to his friends was solid. I’m sorry I didn’t know more of him while he was alive. I think his achievements as a boxer were amazing, but what he did outside of the ring was truly stunning.

  5. Perhaps the others before me are too far removed from their primal instincts? I do not sit to watch any sport at home, it only carries weight to be there in the action. To smell, to see, to feel the energy shared with those around you. I was an amateur kickboxer in my hometown back in the mid-1990’s. Of course, I had to make my way through the seediest side of town among the hookers, pimps, crack addict’s and drug pushers. There I trained with two Viking brothers that had once trained special forces. I often spent six hours a day training there after my twelve hour shift at the factory. There was nothing to go home to, an empty apartment, a cold bed. The gym was my refuge, “home” for some almost two years and family. We beat each other up and then we patched each other up. No talking, but communicating nonetheless. I started with two classes or so of martial arts and then the rest of the time was spent boxing/kickboxing. There were two women in the karate class. sometimes I could talk one into joining me for some boxing and the other one sometimes took me to her house where we trained in the garage with broadswords until 3am. Young, “lost” and angry about a lot of things. It was good to find an outlet when words failed. When I watch two fighters, I watch two people fighting with there own personal demons. The “winner” has not only overcome his opponent for the fight, he/she has overcome the fog of rage in their brain long enough to make calculated maneuvers. Sometimes you find your humanity in all that blood on the floor. It’s there that we find the truth in the old cliché, “What doesn’t kill us, only makes us stronger.” Powerful punches aren’t enough, it’s the footwork that is important, it’s the foundation. When I was able to translate this into verbal and psychological warfare, I have as yet been undefeated. I know myself and I can’t be stripped down and rearranged for someone else’s purpose. No one has control over me, unless I have allowed them.

  6. Glad you like Jimi, dearest Dinahmow.

    Ah, George … he even had hair … And another glad Hendrix fan – glad you like it LẌ.

    And another happy reader – glad to have entertained you Ponita.

    Glad to have you reminded of this film I do not know nothing about IDV.

    Yes, Ali was a great one, dearest Roses – but it is absolutely clear that you do look much better in a three-piece-suit than Ali ever could !

    Ouch – please aim higher in the next round dearest Scarlet

    In the ring is only truth Melanie, no place for any lies there.

Comments are closed.