Sunday Music, Monday Edition

The weekend that was, was a little bittersweet, too short, too short …
Dreadful I slept last night, the air in my sleeping room seemed to stand, not a little breeze, warm air outside, inside, everywhere.
At one point I angrily pushed the curtain aside in the vain hope that fresh air would rush in – and a beam of moonlight fell right into my eyes. The celestial glop, despite already half-way through his shrinking, was so bright that I almost could discern colours, at least a lot of different bluish greys. But I did not feel like admiring the celestial influences on our sub-lunar space ; I wanted to sleep, as already two of the five hours assigned to this task had been spent tossing the duvet around, banning dark thoughts, listening to barking dogs, ach
Finally Morpheus caught me, or one of his helpmates who still learns the trade, really I expect the principal to show up in a difficult case, not to be fobbed off with an intern on his first shift – but complain and see what you’ll get : No service at all, headaches, and general crabbiness. To avoid the worst I simply shut up and took what I could get, even when it was only a sleep-Ersatz, garnished with strange, and thankfully not remembered, “dreams” of the most boring variety.
So it is no wonder that this Sunday Music is moon-related. We hear Franz’l SCHUBERTs (Ger., Eng.) Abendlied (D (Ger., Eng.) 499) – that is a poem (Ger., Eng.) by Matthias CLAUDIUS (Ger., Eng.) ; Dietrich FISCHER-DIESKAU (Ger., Eng.), accompanied by Gerald MOORE (Ger., Eng.), gives us the first three strophes. Doesn’t get much better than that.
I hope you enjoy the music, and will sleep well in the coming week.

*

*

5 thoughts on “Sunday Music, Monday Edition

  1. I am fed up with waking up in the middle night, flinging the window wide and then waking up in the morning chilled as stone.
    I hope you sleep better this week, Mr Mags.
    Sx

  2. But what a nice chilled stone that would be !
    Yes, sleep, what a wonderful invention. Guess The Mistress could say one or two words about this.
    Sleep well, MsScarlet.

  3. “a beam of moonlight fell right into my eyes. The celestial glop, despite already half-way through his shrinking, was so bright that I almost could discern colours, at least a lot of different bluish greys. But I did not feel like admiring the celestial influences on our sub-lunar space”

    Stay away from the brown acid!

    I sleep with air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a desk fan blowing on me, and I still am hot sometimes.

  4. We have very tall windows in our bedroom, the bottom part of the windows have (interior) shutters, so the palladium part at the top is uncovered. We get light from the street at night, and early morning sun in the morning! I sleep with an eye mask on to avoid the light! xoxox

Comments are closed.