Sunday Music, Monday Edition

It rains. The weather people talked about the promise of a “golden October”, but at the moment it looks more like an early November.
I drive again, it’s as if I’d never been away. I have to get into the rhythm again, but I guess it is just a matter of days.
I looked for some music, undecided I staggered from Blues Rock to old-fashioned Progressive, from late Romantics to Schönberg (whose music I heartiest dislike) … only to end up in early Baroque or late Baroque or somewhere in the 18th century, again & again.
I want something with “uump”, and possibly found it.
Josef MYSLIVEĆEK, il divino boemo (1737-1781) (Ger., Eng.), delivers : The overture of his opera Il Gran Tamerlano (1771) (Ger., Eng.) has enough “uump” to make one curious for the rest – here in a pretty accentuated version conducted by Josef KUCHINKA (1980) (Cs.).
I hope you enjoy the music, and that we all may find the necessary “uump” for this week – it shall be peaceful : GOd may protect us from “world-historical” events of any kind.

*

*

8 thoughts on “Sunday Music, Monday Edition

  1. Lively musical selection! Thank you for bringing Mysliveček to my attention.

    I look wistfully at the Berlin weather forecast vs the hellish temperatures here.

  2. I did not know “il divino boemo” until last week LẌ, Mozart seems to have written an interesting letter about him. And there is of course his nose. He had a twin brother, I wonder what became of him. Perhaps he stayed in the parental mill business in Prague.

    I think it could be a nice start into the day, dearest Scarlet.
    Not appartements, but jobs. No luck.

  3. I hope you find the right music to get you in the mood. Sometimes, we find treasure and new discoveries when we just open ourselves to new experiences and try something new. Every now and then, I find new, enjoyable music on the radio, sometimes on stations I don’t normally listen to. I hope you have a great week!

  4. I’ve not heard from you in a very long time and don’t know if you even want to be friends with me anymore, but I thought I’d check in and see what you’re up to. I’m going to post two comments because WordPress doesn’t like me. The second one will contain the broken-down URL to the blog where you’re most likely to find me, and possibly some other old friends. I’m glad you’re still here.

  5. Sorry IDV, it seems that Franconia grabbed the largest part of “Indian Summer ’17”. It is remarkably mild, clear air, intense colours. Perhaps I can go out tomorrow and snap some photos …

    Do you dance when you hear attractive music Eroswings ?

    Cara, dearest – you got mail !

Comments are closed.