Sunday Music

Every man needs a hobby, I know.
I just returned home having spent the afternoon auf dem Zug / “on the train”. Yesterday I sat in a park licking ice cream in the sun, today I walked through rain and very low clouds. At one point I even was close to running, because transfer time was very short due to construction works, but I kept to my stride and brisk walking was enough – pah ! When I finally sat in the last train for the last & longest leg of my journey two gentlemen stormed in in the very last minute, they not even sat when the train started moving. When they had recovered their breath they talked sotto voce about where they came from, where they were going to and whatever happened in the amazing world of model railroads.
Not that childish stuff when the kid is allowed to have a little tschuff-tschuff-Bahn run in circles, but the real dope when grown men use terribly complicated turnouts, switches or points, take apart scale locomotives because one of the wheels creaked, discus what they saw at the latest fair or trade show, exchange tips for what buying where and whom to turn to for that special part of this very rare out-of-production-waggon … you get the idea. Both were from somewhere North from Hamburg, clearly knew each other for ages, were at least in their sixties or maybe older – and their world turned around model railroading. They talked with each other for two hours without one single repetition of a topic, not sure whether this is correctly formulated, I mean there was no redundancy. They only were quiet for some time when they watched videos from a fair one of them could not visit, but he had in turn some other material from another event his friend had not seen yet.
I am pretty sure that these guys could tell after one look at the real stuff what is wrong with that switch or why this engine should go to the repair shop. And all in between : A heap of rotten metal flew by. “Oh, saw that old crane.” “Yeah, a Hanomag.” I saw just a mass of something in the dusk.
Now I am righteously tired, time to nod off. Tomorrow in the ddm* I’ll shuffle to my vehicle, collect my co-driver, brave her terrible good mood and communicational eagerness, and will avoid to hit any wild boar on the road.
Now let’s listen to nice music : Here is the Ed BICKERT Trio with Do Nothing ‘Till You Hear From Me. Sadly it ends a bit abrupt, but no fear, just some seconds are missing. I hope you enjoy the music, may it be a good week for all of us.

*

*

 

* damndarkmorning, thanks to Savannah

12 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. Oh, ja, model trains! I never had one myself but admired those that some cousins and friends had. I also was in awe of the “big boy” train sets that some neighbors had that filled a two-car garage and two others that filled the spare rooms. Lots of detail, amazing stuff to behold then and remember now.

    Have a good week.

  2. Thank you for sharing this lovely piece of music. I like its upbeat, cheerful sound, perfect for inspiring us to greet the day with wonder and strength.

    Train hobbyist are fun. I liked trains when I was a kid. I never got to see a real train/rode one until I left home at 18. It was amazing! I still get a thrill riding public trains, trams, and subways. And I’m still amazed at toy trains. It’s nice when people/friends bond over common interests and hobbies.

    For me, cooking/baking is a fave hobby, when I’m not being a beach bum or out hiking/exploring. Have a wonderful, safe, and fantastic week. Good luck and Good Health to you!

  3. I too never had a model train. Not sure that I wanted some, I would have liked to have a car racing thing – and enough parts to built a course through the whole flat ! Tried something like this some thirty years later …
    Are “big boy train sets” such that a kid can sit on them ? I vaguely remember that a locomobile was called “Big Boy” but am not sure whether this is related.
    Thank you for the good wishes LẌ.

    I only found Mr Bickert a few days ago, he has a nice tone with his electric guitar. I will try to find some takes he did with Paul Desmond, this could be interesting.
    You never have ridden on a train before you were 18 ?! WHow ! One of my childhood memories is riding on trains to visit grandparents, either those of my maternal side in Franconia, or on the paternal side in the Bavarian wilderness. We had no car, my father never had a driver’s licence, interestingly my mother learned to drive in her late forties. So it was trains.
    Yesterday I rode a train from a place that is roughly fifty kilometers from the local “capital ” / Landeshauptstadt ; all of a sudden the train went underground and served as subway through the whole inner circle of the mentioned city. In a way these different, once strictly separated transporting systems grow together.
    Thank you for the good wishes Eroswings, I already feel better !

  4. I was thinking something like this as being something only a “big boy” could afford. Still scale model, but filling a room with lots of tracks, scenery, and details. Apologies for the ambiguity.

  5. Oh yes – thank you for the clarification LẌ. And did you notice that he has a thin veil or a plastic “thing” before the racks in which he stores the other cars & waggons ? This is love !
    There is a “Modelleisenbahn Club” here, I guess in any larger town is one. They have a “Grossanlage”, and always when something is changed “at the swimming pool” or “at the stadion”, or somewhere else, they give notice about it on their website. This time of the year they will present their large “Anlage” publicly again. I think they usually give the money they make to some childrens’ project or something.

  6. One of my relatives belongs to a model railroad club and is quite passionate about the hobby.

    I don’t know whether or not the hobby has a future because most of the members are older men. Model railroad sets were a popular pastime for those who grew up in the 1950s and 1960s. Not so much today when most kids are playing video games.

  7. It’s a special breed I guess, and I think they do not die out. Even those who did not see the original machines in action will like to tinker around with their toys, built their dream landscapes, have their trains running. These two guys on the train also knew a lot about other old machinery, just like the crane I mentioned, and other stuff you see when you ride into a city or a village on train – because you see the places where old things are stored or left to rot away. Old machines, old trucks, all the flotsam & jetsam of industrialisation and – most of all – mechanisation.
    I think those clubs that are formed around large pieces of machinery, like locomotives, bulldogs, trucks, will also flourish in future times. It is always a little bit – don’t know how to describe it, such a large steam engine in a way “lives”.
    I can understand the fascination & dedication for models, but I’d lay the emphasis on building a dream landscape, and am totally crap with a screwdriver that involves more than three ingredients. Let’s play with the Galliano, or whatever we’ll find in yer cabinet.
    And the video kids ? Poor sods, when they will be longing for their childhood games there will be nothing left. I strongly doubt that any of the games en vogue right now has any chance to be archived in any way. This is digital wasteland for ages to come, dearest Mistress.

  8. Love, love the jazz!! I’ve always liked train sets. I purchased a small one for the kids ages ago. A club here in our small town has an amazing one. One Christmas Eve, a long, long time ago, das Christkindl brought us a Carrerarennbahn. Do you remember those? Das war schon eine tolle Sache. Üüübrigens, anscheinend habe ich kein iemähl von dir. Das hat mich aber überrascht.

  9. Nice tune.
    I can’t think of anything more difficult to face than someone cheery in the ddm, so I hope it’s not too awful for you.
    We have a model railway in the museum I volunteer at, people are always messing with it which makes it stop working so we have to call the man who built it. When he comes in to fix it he tells us off for letting people touch it and tries to extract promises we won’t let him down again!

    Have a lovely week! x

  10. Glad that you like Mr Bickert’s play messerimkopf. Of course I remember the Carrera, never had one. A childhood friend had it, I think even with additional parts. I remember how heavy the cars were. Imähl ? Nimm die solang’ : 63mago ät web punkt de

    The good thing is that I have to say nothing then, Eryl.
    The only chance to prevent this is to have it under glass, or keep the visitors away by some kind of threshold. But this would limit the fun, people want to see the trains running, watch them going into tunnels etc. And secretly they all wait for the accident to happen.
    Thank you for the good wishes Eryl, I work on it.

  11. So, have the “big boys” inspired you to take up a new hobby, then?

    My uncle used to have an expansive train set complete with hills and villages and forests that stretched around the inside of his very spacious loft/attic. I used to love going up there to “drive” the trains around and, when I got bored of them (because they weren’t really for playing with), I’d play with all my cousins’ old toys and read their comics which were stored in boxes under the train set.

  12. I never had something like this, and no, it is not a new hobby for me, sorry IDV.
    I think most of the fun is to tinker with the rolling stuff, and to built the landscape, to repair things etc. When all works it must be a bit un-satisfying, finished. And the builder is obsolete. This is a nice picture you show me, a kid sitting under the model train installation going through old comics and other stuff, being kid below the surface.

Comments are closed.