From Childhood to Magnetism

There are two old radios on the shelves to the right of my desk. The larger one is a Graetz (Ger., Eng.) “Comedia” (plugged in and still in operation, pictures), the other smaller one seemingly carries no brand name and type designation. It still works too, I simply have only one electric connection there. The smaller one is from my mother’s side of the family, the larger “Comedia” – with a lot more golden lines to it – belonged to my father’s parents. Both apparatus are filled with tubes or valves and when started they need a bit of time until they reach their operating temperature, you can hear a little “whobb” and then the sound becomes clear – and warm.
Both have a magisches Auge (Ger., Eng.) and two large knobs: One for volume, other for stations. One can receive very short, short, middle and long wave; to change this setting very stable and clunky buttons need to be pressed, you hear a mechanical “clonk” and all of a sudden strange noises hiss and whisper out of the speaker.
I remember the endless numerical series one could hear – was it short wave? Whether from East or West I do not know, German, English, some with accent some not. In the sixties, living a stone’s throw away from The Border, who was communicating what to whom: Where is the spy? I have not heared it for ages, but as I learned it still exists, the Zahlensender (wiki Ger., Eng.) are still working, noises and attempts to blank out the transmission inclusive.
But there is other stuff too, natural sounds that can be heared with an old radio. First of all I had to learn that there ARE natural electromagnetic sounds that can be received. And brings us to Mr. S.P.McGreevy (Eng., Ger.), who on his website collects the “music of the magnetosphere”: He has published since 1996 at least two CD-albums with natural magnetic sounds, that can be found on this page. These magnetic or atmospheral sounds can be called “bioacoustics” – I have no idea whether the links on this page are still valid, sorry. An interesting collection of a wide range of environmental recordings  is here, there are small samples.
In the beginning of this April McGreevy installed a “Very-Low-Frequency-Receiver” that allows him to monitor these from home. More info on VLF should be found here.
And if you are still reading, brave!, have a look on the “Magnetic Movie“, its fun to watch, and a bit frightening.
I originally wanted to write about space-music and the melochord, so it will come later.

12 thoughts on “From Childhood to Magnetism

  1. You brought back memories of trying to listen to pop music on my ancient Grundig ? radio. And all the banshee screams and sounds.

    Will listen and comment again.

  2. Austere
    Max Grundig founded his firm 1930 in Fürth, thats in Franconia, near Nuernberg. :) There were strange noises …

    MJ
    *cringes*

    Scarlet Blue
    My father once gave me small handheld radio, very cheap. For reasons I can not remember I opened it, maybe to chance the akkus; there were three kind of screws, originally fixed with coloured lacquer, and with a small driver one could turn and change it – and all of a sudden one could here the police; it became a kind of walkie-talkie, just without the talkie.

  3. I still turn my car radio to th am band if it feels like a thunderstorm is coming , as you can here the lightening on that . I have done this since childhood and find it strangely comforting

  4. Beast
    You are a man right after my heart!

    Leni
    Sorry, as I understood, much of it is “shopped”.
    Here a Van der Graaf is explained, pretty technically and I do not understand fully – it is seemingly all about rubbing. Isn’t it always?
    The real deal is Tesla, I will post about him, because of his “Weiterleben”, der kulturellen Wirksamkeit: Da werden BILDer geprägt, images are created. Here a home made generator is shown, or you may just switch on your Tesla Coil in the backyard. You surely have one, don’t you?

Comments are closed.