Sunday Music

I hope it was a good week for you and you can enjoy the weekend. We have an additional holyday this Monday, Assumptio Beatae Mariae Virginis (Ger., Eng.), which is very welcome. August normally is meant to be a quiet and easy going month with all people on holydays, enough parking space in the town centre and crowd free shops. This year it’s a bit different.

Rosalyn TURECK (Ger., Eng.) (1913-2003) shows the relentless, even grim, beauty of Bach’s music. I hope you enjoy it. BTW one of her teachers was Leon THEREMIN (Ger., Eng.) (1896-1993), she even played the instrument he invented at Carnegie Hall.

*

*

12 thoughts on “Sunday Music

  1. I hope you enjoy the weekend too, Mago, and that your comfort level is steadily increasing. Getting out into the countryside would be a lovely thing to do with an extra day off.

  2. Don’t speak about winter please – it’s in the middle of August!

    You are right, dear Joyce, but I have to sit here still for a while …

    Hello Guilie, welcome, and thank you for your first comment here! I have to catch up with your writing!

    The extra day came and (nearly) went – and of course it all went into another direction, Ponita, but it was not a bad one!

    Welcome, Pirate, and thank you for your first comment! I have no idea about Clara Rockmore – I will search for her asap!

    A friend and professional piano player once saied, that playing Bach allows absolutely no legato, tone next to tone. And I think that’s what Miss Rosalyn does here.

Comments are closed.