B 3

I earlier wrote about old radios and the strange sounds one can hear on the “sides” of the ‘allowed’ bandwidth, crackling noises or endless morse code, strange rows and rows of numbers (Zahlensender),  I seemingly made a little leeway, like the signal of a far away station because of incoming fog. But I would not describe myself as foggy; not yet.

It started with a link XL sent me, about Harald BODE (Ger., Eng.) the inventor of the Melochord (Ger., Eng.) and other early electro-electronical instruments we today summarize as synthesizers (German radio feature here) – if this is correct: I can not say whether this is still the right term because the technical evolution went that fast that I have no more idea how the digitalized small technical wonders today “make sound”  (a historical overview here). The most known early music instrument of this kind is probably Lev TERMEN’s (Ger., Eng.) Theremin (Ger., Eng.), because it was widely used in 1960s psychedelic music and produces a unique and distinctive sound. It was often used in films to produce space-themed music. I think in this context not so much about HOLST’s (Ger., Eng.) Planets (Ger., Eng.) but more of post WWII invasion phantasies, but I could not give an example now, and am too lazy and tired to trawl youtube. These films of the 1950s until 1970s are worth another post.

One can not mention the Theremin without referring to The Hammond (Ger., Eng.), Laurens HAMMOND’s (Ger., Eng.) invention without that 60s music, especially jazz-rock, is un-imaginable. Especially the B3 with Leslie speakers  (Ger., Eng.) has an unmistakable pulsating warm sound, and the list of Hammond organ players (wiki) is a kind of Who’s who of modern jazz and rock.  A modern organ has one really great advantage over a historical instrument with pipes – it’s not blowing the bellows, it’s simply the power of the stroke or touch you need: I once saw the hands of an organist who played a very nice and known historical instrument, he had hands like a blacksmith, really developed and ‘well defined’ muscles; demanding Great and Swell, and do not forget the footwork.

These two ladies show what can be done with a B3, playing with – and a little against – each other. It’s not Sunday Music, hope you enjoy nevertheless.

*

22 thoughts on “B 3

  1. Hi mago! had to catch up a little, or a lot. Am once again largely internet-less.

    I do love the sound of the Hammond organ. (I will also admit I like the spooky sound of the theremin, tangentially).

  2. That’s spacey, Joyce!

    As I walk the blogs I am not allowed to comment on many blogger-blogs: There is seemingly a difficulty with the open-ID-thingy. I was allowed to comment on blogs, where the open-id-thing was asked in a seperate step. I have no idea what happens there.
    Anyway, if a comment comes up signed by “63mago, not allowed in by blogger” its me! Really!

  3. These films of the 1950s until 1970s are worth another post.

    Definitely.

    It was also used in “The Five Thousand Fingers of Dr. T”… written by Dr. Seuss!

  4. My favorite modern keyboardist is Rick Wakeman, solo artist and keyboards for Yes. The first time I saw him (1973) he played something like seven different keyboard instruments in a grouping around him on stage with Yes.

  5. Dear Mago,
    Growing up in the late 60’s I felt like Rick Wakeman surrounded by Aunt’s and Uncles and their Hammond Organs, One Aunt could only play tunes in 3/4 time regardless of what the actual beat should have been. I think it was a result of her being rapped over the knuckles by nasty Nuns during her formative playing years… It made for some very wierd and interesting singalongs…

  6. I still have to re-arrange my mental picture of you, Leah. Sorry, takes a while …

    MJ, I have no idea who this Dr. Seuss is ?! And have never heared about this film before. Just checked it on imdb – a piano class with electric fence and cells? And all the boys playing Mozart’s Kinderszenen … Seuss must have had a hard youth!

    Wakeman! Exactly one of the people who plugged it in sometimes in the sixties and started to rock on! ‘YES’ blibbed off my radar, XL, thank you for thereminder!

  7. Dear Princess, you snug in … a waltz can be a nice thing! Didn’t RIngo Starr actually drum along anything in 3/4 after a long tour? And the voice is our most flexible instrument – regardless what others say! Ach, singing! It’s all in the audience’s ears …

  8. Hello anymous – welcome and have a look around. I am generally interested in photography, when you go through the categories you will find Sidhard Jain, murasaki and other photographers I wrote about. How did you come to this blog by the way?

Comments are closed.